continuation of breastmates. in crawling into 2014.

  • Jan. 8, 2014, 4:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can't remember if I have mentioned here that the children's centres in our town have been culled. Well, not all of them but the ones that were not considered to be necessary!

The one that hosted my breastmates group is one of the ones to go. We took part in the council's discussions but it was obvious that it was all for show because they'd made their minds up.

The children's centre closed down in mid December leaving us a little up in the air. I had spoken to the school next door to the centre about us using one of their rooms which they were all for, despite the fact that we couldn't pay rent for the space but the health visitors who ran the clinic that we were annexed to said that they would include us in any negotiations that occurred regarding their clinic.

Our last day was 9th December and we liberated the cushion... An amazing, huge, scrumptiously comfy cushion. We had asked for it several times, for use by our group wherever we ended up, without a definitive answer. On our last day, when the manager (once more) wouldn't give us a yes or no I said I would take it home and wash it. Then I giggled because I can't lie for love not money! When we left, one of my fellow peer supporters and myself carried it out, the centre manager looked down and said "i can't see you!" "you know my number if you need it back," I told her.

Since then it had been on my living room floor and story time has been fabulous! The most people we've fitted on it have been four kids (ages 3-10) and me :) I'm really, really going to miss it :)

Anyway, today I received an email from the head health visitor to say that the school are taking over the building and both the clinic and the breastmates group can stay on in the premises!

As of next week we will be back, so tomorrow we're meeting up for coffee, cake and a play in our local shopping centre (mall to you across the pond) which had a great little play area for pre schoolers :)

We're back!!


~Twinkle~ January 08, 2014

Brilliant news! :) x

ElvenAssassin January 08, 2014

Yay for being back in the game!

Deleted user January 08, 2014

Yay!!!! Me alegro mucho!! Pena por el super cojín, pero vale la pena verlo partir por esto! ;-)

Victory Hug!

The Tranquil Loon January 08, 2014

Great it will be back and nice that you kept the pillow warm in the mean time.

ermentrude January 09, 2014

*there not they're!

Life Is For Living January 09, 2014

Awesome news!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.