Global Warming? in The View from the Terrace

  • Aug. 11, 2016, 4:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I thought that climate change was going to make the weather warmer, after all they do call it global warming. All I know is that, although the weather in the UK has changed dramatically over the past ten years or so, with heavy summer rainfall causing floods and mini tornados, our summers are definitely cooler. I know it’s not just me looking back through rose coloured glasses to long sunny days of childhood, I remember our summers being hotter when our children were young. I remember long, hot evenings with the windows wide open and then going to bed and not being able to sleep until the early hours because of the heat. We live in a cottage with low ceilings upstairs and we often had to open the loft in our room just to make it tolerable. That hardly ever happens now. We did have two or three nights in July when we needed the fan in the bedroom, but then, after a few days I was digging out my thermal vests again and I have been wearing them ever since. We are going to the annual flower show in my hometown of Shrewsbury this weekend so I do hope we get some warmer weather then.

We did have a lovely afternoon out two weeks ago at a nearby water gardens called Westonbury Mill. We had seen it featured on a TV programme and found it was quite nearby. The owner bought a derelict old water mill and renovated it and then created the gardens. There are several beautiful lakes and some interesting follies.
alt text

This is a dome made of bottles. The light is beautiful inside
alt text

alt text

On the other side of the lake is a big cuckoo clock.
alt text

You can climb up inside the clock.
alt text

alt text

It was a lovely relaxing afternoon. Now we are off to Shrewsbury tomorrow.


Deleted user August 11, 2016

It's very hot and dry here but it supposed to start storming tomorrow for the next couple of days :-( That garden looks so interesting !

🌻StillJustMe🌸 August 13, 2016

Absolutely gorgeous pictures!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.