Screw you Monday. in One day at a time

  • Aug. 7, 2016, 9:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sorry to go on about the weather, but it really has been brutal. Cold and wet. It is snowing in a lot of places but not here, thank goodness. Last time it snowed was 2 or maybe 3 years ago, and the time before that about 20 years ago. We are totally unprepared for conditions like that. It has felt cold at work all day today, and the aircon man came and checked the temperature. He said the whole city is struggling with gas supply as people want more heat. Home is just as bad. I have a heat pump (which I am convinced blows cold air) and that is it. Blurk. The best place is in bed with the electric blanket on full and two kitties (who are happy to oblige).

There are only two of us in the office today, and it is still frighteningly quiet. So much so that mean boss has turned the TV on so we can watch some Olympic coverage. At the moment the synchronised diving is on. Amazing.

I had a fun night out Saturday. Terri and I met in town for a cheap Chinese dinner. It was a BYO and I had an excellent bottle of red given to me by a client (we worked out is was worth double what we paid for a our meal). We then went to her Husband’s local pub and watched our team win the championship (after 21 years of competition). Everyone was in great spirits and there was a lot of singing and dancing. Rich had braved the elements and gone to the game, he met us later. A few of us kicked on till late, and moved down to the party end of town. Lots of younger girls (the legal drinking age here is 18) were out in very little clothing. That didn’t bother me (apart from thinking ug that must be cold), but the drunker they got the more obnoxious they became. Stumbling all over the place and bumping into people. Yuck. As we were leaving, R and I stood at a bus-stop waiting for his friend Leo to come out. The stop was covered in vom (another lovely side effect of drunk young people). A rather large girl stumbled into me and I would have gone flying if R hadn’t grabbed me. Thanks for the big bruise lady.

I stayed again at R’s. His mother has the most beautiful garden and everytime I leave I take a cutting of something. We laugh about how we stay up to stupid o’clock like young people and then discuss succulents in the morning.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.