Long time. in Soul Journey

  • Aug. 7, 2016, 7:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friends it has been awhile. I have had such a busy year.
Being MD of my singing group has become a full time job just about.
I am continually looking for songs and arrangements. I like to present things in a very professional manner. Beautifully dressed and choreographed.
There are now ten of us. Which is absolutely perfect in terms of staging, Some of our venues are not that big.
We have had a lot of bookings from groups such as Seniors clubs, Retirement villages, Probus, The View club and the like. However the oldies are my priority and we have to do a least one a month.
We are so popular with them, that we automatically get booked for twice a year. We do two different shows. We are currently rehearsing a Broadway Tribute. I am so thrilled how hard my precious Skylarkers work for me.
I only have four seasoned performers in the group. The rest of the group have learned how to perform songs, rather than just stand there and sing as they used to before I took over.
We like to do a show every 12 days or there abouts.
Our booking agent retired this year. Funny gal, she had been with the group for years and years. She is a hardened feminist and when a new guy joined us, she took offence at his humour. Let me tell you this is one funny guy and personally I love his contribution. But she left us leaving us in a bit of lurch so to speak.
So I took on the booking, but by June I was finding it overwhelming. So two of the gals took it off my hands and believe me it was like burden lifted off my shoulders.
I have just come back from a fortnight on The Gold Coast where I swam every day. It was wonderful. I feel so relaxed
Every one is fine in my family. My starloves keep growing and glowing. Emma is 15 this year, Olivia 13. Katherine turns 12 this week and my triplets turn 10 next week. Can you believe it. When on OD how I raved about their births and here they are growing up so fast it is amazing.
I am about to visit your diaries. Forgive me for not being around. Love to you all.


crystal butterfly August 07, 2016

I am glad you remembered how to come back and visit.

noko August 11, 2016

Ah, what joy you are bringing to your audiences! I find it so challenging to find the right balance in terms of how much I take on and my energy level and I think it particularly complicated when it is something I love. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.