Reflections and Folk Music in Diary

  • Aug. 4, 2016, 9:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well that was a lot of hormonal whinging in yesterday’s entry. I’m pretty sure the time of month is partly to blame for my low mood lately, bad timing for it to coincide with the non-promotion announcement.

I’ve had time to reflect today; my life is still the same as it was yesterday and the day before, so I’ve just got to get on with things. I know there are people who don’t have a home or a job or can’t afford to buy food, and I can, so I am grateful for these things.

I’ve had another go at trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. So far today I’ve had myself as a facilities manager, a blacksmith, a farrier, a zoologist and an RSPCA inspector, none of which I think are realistic as they require years of training! Hmmmm, still have no idea.



So me and Jay went to Cambridge Folk Festival at the weekend. It was a lot more chilled out than Download, and the weather was fantastic which made a huge difference. There were a couple of rain showers, but nothing like the utter quagmire that was Download. There was still grass by the end and you could still sit on the ground! The sun was out so only shorts and t-shirts were needed, which in turn made going to the toilet a whole lot easier as we didn’t have to fight with layers of clothing.

It’s also a lot smaller and quieter; between about 12:30am and 6:30am, people are actually quiet! No planes flying overhead, no one yelling or being noisily sick outside the tent; apart from security having quite loud conversations, there was just the sound of the trees rustling in the wind.

The arena was only a 30 second walk from the campsite, rather than the 30 minute walk at Download. So you could pop back for a snack or a change of clothes. You could even take your own alcohol into the arena, which you can’t do at Download, but if you did decide to buy a drink, it was normal pub prices, under £4, rather than £5.50 at Download.

Sure, I had only heard of four of the acts on the entire bill and you can see much bigger names at Download, I think I’ve grown out of it and now prefer something smaller and more chilled. I’ve turned into an old hippy. Jay’s dad and his friend Les were there too, they’ve been going for years. We’d never met Les before, he turned out to be a good laugh and easy to talk to.

A terrible photo of Glen Hansard, who is one piece of the jigsaw that helped to bring me and Jay together. He sang what is going to be the first dance at our wedding. I was singing along and a couple who came from New Zealand and were standing in front of us, turned around to tell me I had a really good voice, and took my photo! I don’t know what they’re planning on doing with that, lol.

Jay and a duck pond.


Last updated August 23, 2016


puffin August 04, 2016

That fox structure was at Glastonbury last year! I'd love to go to Cambridge folk festival and almost certainly will after this good right up! I did a small festival this year (ynot) and it was lovely x

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ August 12, 2016

Aw yeah you should definitely go, it was really chilled and loads of fun :o)

Camdengirl August 04, 2016

Looks amazing!

history of love August 04, 2016

I'm loving the animal structures and people dressed up as animals. Very cool! Glad you had an enjoyable time :)

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ August 12, 2016

Yeah I liked them too, really added to the atmosphere.

Lucretia August 05, 2016

The folk festival looks great!

Don't be put off by the idea of retraining. Just think, if you'd retrained three years ago you could be doing something you loved right now!

One of the constants I see with you is a love of animals, perhaps that's a line you should pursue? You don't have to be a vet or anything so serious, but from an outsider's perspective it looks like what you're drawn to most x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ August 12, 2016

Good point, I just need to make sure that it's definitely something I absolutely want to do. After three years of getting a media degree and now I'm not using it, I wouldn't want a repeat of that. Also, going back into full time education, I'd worry about paying the bills in the meantime...yeah I do love animals, which is why I started my pet care business, but it turned out to be not as enjoyable as I thought it would be (not the animals' fault at all!) This is why I'm scared of making another leap!

Babe In Toyland August 06, 2016

I have never seen such a beautiful grasshopper in this country. Wow.
I found my perfect job the other day.... Geography graduate, check, interest in teaching, check, live within driving distance of Threlkeld, check, driving licence, check. I got super excited, texted dad and everything... Then realised you needed to have had your licence for two years because you're driving farming machinery...drat!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 12, 2016

Awwww that's a shame, but still, at least you have your licence now, so you still look for other jobs that you couldn't apply for previously. And in two years, another job like this might come up again!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ August 12, 2016

It comes up every year, but I'm not getting any younger! Need to try and get out on more guided walks, keep my toe in the water!

ODSago August 10, 2016

Hope you figure out what's the right work path for now and that you shine at it; I haven't been to but a few folk festivals here, all just music presentations, but I do love the creativity I see in the pictures you shared, the constructions, and art installations especially. Looks like great fun. Good to meet you here, and at festival time.

Bomb Shell ODSago ⋅ August 12, 2016

Thank you, it's nice to meet you here too :o) Yes the art work and extra little bits really add to the atmosphere and make it more enjoyable.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.