Another entry for Wed in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Aug. 3, 2016, 7:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I’ll be leaving at 6:30 n the morning to take Dad to his appointments I wanted to get this down tonight. Short but oh so sweet.

All 7 pints sealed within 45 minutes after taking them out of the boil bath. 4 out of the 7 popped within just a couple of minutes after taking them out. Relief. Since I had the notion, I decided to take care of the green beans I’d picked over the last couple of weeks. I’d been keeping them as I picked them in the fridge in the garage and was wondering if it had kept them. Yes it had. I did another picking and combined them all and stemmed and snapped them. Then washed them and blanched them and then froze um. I only froze 2 quarts and one of them only has a pint probably but it will come in handy for a soup or stew. Then I picked the last 3 ears of sweet corn, cleaned it, blanched it, cut it off the cob and then froze the corn. I was amazed how much corn I got out of those 3 ears. I had a really big ear, a med ear, and a small ear and had a full quart. I divided it between two freezer bags and will use the smaller one for soup or stew. I just knew I would eat the last three but strangely I didn’t want to. I’m just amazed that all 14 corn seeds all produced. I wish they’d produced more than 1 ear per stalk, but I’ tickled pink they all produced and nothing got them before I did. Yay.

So this has taken most of the day-well at least until about 2:30 when I washed dishes again. I’ve washed dishes or pans all day. lol Then decided to use up the leftover meat from previous meals. I ended up making a Shepherd’s Pie. It had beef and pork and small amount of chopped and saute’d zucchini, and a bag of frozen veggies. Can you Believe it? I’ve preserved veggies all day and then use frozen for the Shepherd’s pie. LOL
I used the leftover meatballs which had gravy with them and chopped up the meatballs, a pork steak that I cut into small pieces and a small amount of cooked ground beef. Added garlic and onion and some seasoning salt and yum. I have only made SP a couple of times in the past and this was the best yet. Maybe it was the frozen veggies. ;)

That’s all folks. Take care and God Bless


ConnieK August 03, 2016

Shepard's Pie was a good choice for using up the odds & ends!

crystal butterfly ConnieK ⋅ August 04, 2016

Loved the way you spelled Shepard's. That is how my maiden name was spelled!

crystal butterfly August 04, 2016

I like Shepherd's pie, but I don't think I've ever made it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.