The Knockback (and some Melodrama) in Diary

  • Aug. 3, 2016, 8:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I didn’t get the promotion at work. My manager said to me that I seem like I would be a natural team leader, my work ethic is top notch, knowledge, intelligence etc. He even mentioned the time that we had a fire drill a few weeks ago and were all standing in the car park outside, and I was the only one who logged into the emergency mobile phone and took call after call while everyone else stood around chatting and laughing at me sitting on the ground, scribbling notes onto bits of paper that were blowing around in the wind.

But apparently one person had better ideas for the team, so there’s not a lot I can say to that. I sent him a Facebook message when I got home (I only found out who it was after I left work) to congratulate him and say I was looking forward to seeing what ideas he had. He said thanks but he’s now worried he’s been over ambitious. Come on man, you’ve got to deliver on your promises, especially as there were five more of us who all wanted the job that you’ve taken based solely on these promises. We shall see.

I’m actually properly gutted; I had stupidly managed to convince myself that the job was mine, so now it feels like I’ve lost the job, rather than never had it in the first place…I know, I shouldn’t have set my heart so deeply on it. This is why I’ve always said pessimism is the best option; that way, you’ll never be disappointed.

A couple of things I only realised after I got home, as I was so upset during the discussion with my manager, I wasn’t thinking properly.
First, he said the person who got the job has got more experience in facilities management, which added to the reason he was offered the job… In the two jobs I’ve had in the industry, I have over seven years experience. Gareth is 24 years old and I know for a fact he hasn’t been doing this since he was 17!
Second, he said “I can’t remember if I mentioned it in your interview, but I want the helpdesk and the schedulers to have more of a crossover, shadow each other and fully learn what each person does so you can work together better as a team.” Uh-huh, yes I do remember that. Because it was me that said it, not you! It was one of the ideas that I gave, you know, the ideas that were so important that you gave the job to Gareth!

I’ve spent my entire working life in admin and customer service, about 13 years worth. One job I had for six years, one for three years, this one for 14 months so far. And, in all that time, I’ve never risen above entry level. I’ve never had the opportunity. I know I would make a good team leader / office manager / supervisor or whatever as I’ve done it all in everything but name. My manager said it himself today. Several other people have come up to me in the last week and said they hope I get the job because they know I would be great and I’m the obvious choice. But I have never been given a chance to prove it. When I worked at PRG and my boss was promoted into another department, they never replaced her, so I took on her role, but my job title, job description and salary stayed the same. Some women choose between a family and a career. Some are lucky enough to have both. I have neither. I have a mediocre job and that’s all I’ve ever had.

The last few weeks, I’ve been steadily losing energy and losing interest in things. I haven’t been skating for about three weeks, mainly because I just don’t feel like it. That’s unheard of, I’m always excited to go skating. I just want to sit at home on my own all day, crocheting and watching TV. I can’t, I have too much to do. Jay says it sounds like the onset of depression (He’s very strong on the subject, having suffered with it himself most of his adult life.)

I’ve never been depressed before, I don’t know why it would pop up on me now. It’s making me maudlin, making me question my life. I was hoping this promotion would buoy me up and give me something fresh and exciting to sink my teeth into. But it’s just made me feel even worse.

Wednesday night, I would normally be playing roller derby. Instead I’m sulking at home, listening to my three favourite pieces of classical music, which I only ever seem to listen to when I’m feeling blue. (For those of you wondering, they are Spiegel im Spiegel by Arvo Part, Clair de Lune by Claude Debussy and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major)

I don’t know what to do. I need a career direction…I may look for team leader roles at other companies, although I’m not sure anyone would take me on without experience…but I can’t get experience if no one will give me a chance.

My summary of today: This is bullshit.


Last updated August 03, 2016


dt dew August 03, 2016

I am sorry you did not get the job it sounds like you would have been good at it. I have been waiting at work to be promoted from taking calls to being a chat coach and waiting kills me. The one girl that used to be the only chat coach quit or something so I thought I had it in the bag but they promoted two guys to the position. I am still waiting...hopefully we will get busy soon so they need more chat coaches.
Maybe in your situation the guy will not work out and you will have another chance. Especially if he doesn't do what he needs to and what he got the position for.

Bomb Shell dt dew ⋅ August 03, 2016

So frustrating, I'm sorry you didn't get the promotion either, it seems we're in the same position.

Yes, it seems like that's all I can do for now. Wait and see how he does.

Lucretia August 03, 2016

It's rubbish that you didn't get the job. I think you should call a meeting with your boss to express everything you've said here. You need to get those things across, I think with the way you're feeling it's a closure that would benefit your health.

It does sound like the start of a depressive episode, not finding joy in things you used to love is one of the big early-onset indicators. Try and nip it in the bud if you can. It's easier said than done but if you can work on the practical issues you'r facing it's a start. I also recommend exercise. You mightn't feel like doing it but it's proven to have a positive effect.

Take care Xx

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ August 03, 2016

I might just have to do that once I've calmed down and got over it a bit.

Yeah, exercise is one of the things I always suggest to Jay when he's having a depressive episode. I used to exercise every day, but at the moment I know how he feels when he says he doesn't feel up to it. He now goes to the gym three times a week, I really should make myself get back into it sooner rather than later.

Bumbly August 03, 2016

:( that's rubbish

Camdengirl August 03, 2016

I'm mega impressed that you congratulated Gareth - that really does take a big person, and I'm glad he realises that he has big boots to fill. Interesting that they gave it to a bloke - part of my spider senses say it's a deliberate decision not to promote a woman of child-bearing age, as it sounds like you would be perfect for the role and have relevant experience. But hey - maybe he did have some fantastic ideas for the team... we shall see!

history of love August 03, 2016

Sorry you didn't get the job. It's such a horrible feeling :/
I think this company have done you a favour in a way though because now you could see what else is out there. If you apply for jobs with a leadership role I'm sure you will have things to talk about. I've never been a supervisor but when I volunteered, I was always the person that showed newbies what to do, I'm the 'go to' person, I've made up step by step guides etc. There are plenty of jobs where you have more responsibility/do interesting work without being a supervisor. You've just got to look for them and apply for them...worst they could do is say no, right?

I recommend this blog all the time to people because it's helped me so much. You might find something helpful in the archives - www.askamanager.org

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ August 03, 2016

Thanks but my huge problem is that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do. I never planned on ending up in customer service or admin, I just kind of fell into it to pay the bills and have been horribly bored ever since. When this team leader position came up, I thought it was finally my time to prove myself and move up the ranks. But I don't want to leave this company for yet another boring one doing the same, I would only leave once I found a job that I would really love; but I don't know what that job is :o(

Thanks for the link, I'll take a look.

history of love Bomb Shell ⋅ August 03, 2016

you sound a bit like me. I like admin but I don't want to be doing just the same stuff I've been doing so when I'm applying for jobs I only apply for ones that would interest me and you can ask these sorts of things in interviews to get a better idea. For instance, I'm applying for this job, is that something you'd do, if you saw it advertised near you?

http://www.s1jobs.com/job/admin-secretarial-pa/edinburgh/627332193.html

Canadian Lass August 04, 2016

awww im sorry hun :(
Don't give up on the place yet, I am sure you'll get the position you deserve when you least expect it.
I know its hard.

Babe In Toyland August 06, 2016

I'm sorry I wasn't here to support you. Me and mam both sent you positive thoughts. If it's any consolation, I love you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.