Hawaii Nei... in Talk Story

  • Aug. 2, 2016, 2:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

Just came in from washing my car… all the while listening to Hawaiian music on the stereo in the garage…

The music is bitter-sweet… too many memories reappear… the memories are wonderful… but dealing with the loss of them is not as wonderful…

I miss family… not my ex… well at least not the person she became… I do miss Emily… and my daughter Jennifer…

I miss my mom and dad… and my two younger brothers…

Time heals… but a lot of the pain remains…

I hurt my lower back yesterday… and found that walking helped with the pain… so I thought that washing the car would help as well…

It did… the pain is much removed… and…

My car is clean again…!


Deleted user August 02, 2016

You lived in paradise when you lived in Hawaii. Just think, you got to experience that! Not everyone can say that. Not everyone can say they lived in Maui - most are only visitors. I will never forget the short time I spent in Hawaii. You were a true Hawaiian for many, many years. Your memories are bound to be many and now they can feel bittersweet at times. Sometimes I feel this way when I think of my past marriage and the little family that we had, Steve, Katie, and I. So many memories and now so bittersweet. Hey, I bet your car looks wonderful after it's bath! Glad to read that your back pain has improved.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ August 02, 2016

Mahalo nui loa for your kind and thoughtful words to me...

TruNorth August 02, 2016

I love the area where you lived in Maui. But I have only been able to visit for a few days occasionally. The people who get to live there are so lucky.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ August 04, 2016

Yes... I realize my good fortune in having lived there as long as I did...

aunty EM August 02, 2016

Yea for a clean car!!!

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ August 04, 2016

Yes...!

Deleted user August 03, 2016

I have so much time since I retired to have memories pop up in my mind. Some very painful. Good for you to get some exercise. I should be doing same for my back pain. Take care of yourself. :-)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ August 04, 2016

Thank you...

middle age pearl August 04, 2016

Yes songs do bring back memories. The good and the bad. Sorry you hurt your back, but now your car is spic and span and helped your back. Win win I believe.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ August 04, 2016

Yes... today (3 days or so later) the car remains clean... but my back is still stiff and sore... walking helps... so...

dream seeker August 06, 2016

Pain is like the ocean, sometimes coming in hard and fast, sometimes just gently rolling. I hope you're able to enjoy the good memories more than the bad.
I also hope that the rain and the birds didn't mess up your car too quickly. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.