2016 Books Update - July in Book Book

  • July 31, 2016, 8:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

January:
You - Caroline Kepnes
Her - Harriet Lane
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart
Luckiest Girl Alive - Jessica Knoll
A Dark and Twisted Tide - Sharon Bolton
The Memory Box - Eva Lesko Natiello
Night Film - Marisha Pessl
In The Woods - Tan French

February:
The Likeness - Tana French
The Longest Night - Andria Williams
All The Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Me Before You - Jojo Moyes
Hidden Bodies - Caroline Kepnes

March:
After You - Jojo Moyes
The Widow - Fiona Barton
Gone Tomorrow - Lee Child
61 Hours - Lee Child
Worth Dying For - Lee Child

April:
Alone - Lisa Gardner
Hide - Lisa Gardner
The Neighbor - Lisa Gardner
Live To Tell - Lisa Gardner
Love You More - Lisa Gardner
Catch Me - Lisa Gardner
Fear Nothing - Lisa Gardner
The Nest - Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

May:
Touch & Go - Lisa Gardner
Crash & Burn - Lisa Gardner
The Perfect Husband - Lisa Gardner
The Third Victim - Lisa Gardner
The Next Accident - Lisa Gardner

June:
The Killing Hour – Lisa Gardner
Gone – Lisa Gardner
Say Goodbye – Lisa Gardner
The Passenger – Lisa Lutz (recommended by Jeanine)
I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You – Courtney Maum (recommended by Caty Shark)

July:
Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar - Cheryl Strayed (recommended by Pandora)

This book broke me open in a few ways. And I’m not really ready to talk about it. I recommend. It’s one of those books that is actually better if you take your time and put it down and ruminate on the lessons and then read more. But I wanted to read it all at once. Now I will ruminate.

The Kind Worth Killing - Peter Swanson

Ah. This book. It was really good. Recommend!

Rich and Pretty - Alam Rumaan

Ah. This book. The worst. Do not recommend! If I wanted to read about boring people who don’t do anything I would read my own diary. BA DA BING!

The Girls - Emma Cline

This book was decent. I enjoyed the premise. The main character belongs to a cult-like group led by a Charles Manson-esque leader. But I would have enjoyed the book better if it was not told from her point of view. It would have been more interesting if it had been written from multiple points of view.

The Girl in the Ice - Robert Bryndza

A serial killer is killing women in London. I’ve read a lot of British serial killer/murder novels in the last little while and this wasn’t the best of them. Interesting and at times compelling but there are better writers out there for this type of fiction.

Before the Fall - Noah Hawley

I had a lot of expectations about this book because it was written by one of the writers of “Fargo” a tv series that I greatly enjoy. I read it in 1 day so that should tell you how compelling it is. But it had some really bad writing. Did the guy not have an editor? FOR INSTANCE: He described one of the characters as ‘bilingually discreet’. Ummmmm secretive in two languages?

It’s about a plane crash so I would recommend to Elaine Benes! :)

2016 total: 42 books


Jeanine July 31, 2016

I have Before the Fall on my list! I didn't know it was a Fargo writer. Will check it out for sure!

MaggieTheCat Jeanine ⋅ July 31, 2016

Just ignore the 'bilingually discreet' stuff! ;)

MaggieTheCat Jeanine ⋅ July 31, 2016

"Noah Hawley is an American film and television producer, screenwriter, composer, and bestselling author, known for creating and writing the FX anthology television series Fargo."

plushcreep August 01, 2016

"If I wanted to read about boring people who don’t do anything I would read my own diary."

Best example of self-deprecation I've seen all month.
Granted, it's only the 1st. But still.

pandora August 02, 2016

Bilingually discreet?!?! AHAHAHAHAHA!!

Caty Shark August 02, 2016

MTC IS NOT BORING YOU TAKE THAT BACK!

MaggieTheCat Caty Shark ⋅ August 02, 2016

LOVE YOU! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.