Passing The Time in The Everyday (A Diary Of Sorts)

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 7:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's not quite seven thirty in the morning. I'm at dialysis on the machine, having my blood filtered and cleaned out, and the excess fluid that my kidneys do not deal with any longer taken from me. It's a three and a half hour process done three times a week, and of course I need to find things to do to pass the time. One of those things I have found to do is write stuff like this and post it somewhere, most usually here.

I have to have a chest x-ray done after dialysis today. I can have it done in the same building where the dialysis lab is, which is very convenient. Even more convenient is that i don't need an actual appointment; I can just show up and wait my turn. Easy enough.

Then it's home again, which is about a thirty minute ride from here.

The day doesn't look too eventful so far. My schedule is not crammed full of stuff that has to be done, and except for the fact that I really need to buy cat litter, as I'm nearly out of it, I have little that absolutely HAS to be done. The weekend can get off to an early start, I guess. That doesn't bother me a bit.

And life such as it is, goes on...

Today is the beginning of a three-day event in the town where I live. It's a Woodsman's field day, where there are demonstrations of logging equipment all weekend long, and contests for lumberjacks as well. It's very noisy; you can hear the goings-on up there nearly all over town. This should be exciting for my cat, whois not afraid of loud noises, but will get excited over all the unusual sounds he will be hearing. As for me,I plan to ignore as much of that shit as I can. It might have been a novelty formeatone time, but the novelty of it all has worn off over the years. I figure once you've seen one lumberjack you've seen 'em all. The same goes for HAVING a lumberjack; one suffices for a lifetime. You've had one big long, you've had 'em all.. Tra la.

Really, I don't care much for this event, as once it's over, the summer seems to be over as well. It's back to school, back to colder weather, and wearing warmer clothes. I don't like any of that. I do like the variety of colored leaves that autumn presents, but aside from that, it's merely a prelude to winter, and I can't stand winter. I'm pleased that for the most part, winter knows enough to stay outside, where it belongs. Winter never should come inside to live with you. The same goes for all the various forms of wildlife, big and small, looking for a place to hibernate or store their winter stash of food. I am not accepting houseguests.

I guess I need to find some other things to do. I've got books on my nook that I haven't even begun to look at yet, which means I'm behind on my reading, so this would be a good time to catch up on some of that, since there's little else I can do right now. Being hooked up to a dialysis machine is necessary for me, but rather inconvenient just the same.

But life goes on, as I said before...


Kate August 16, 2013

Hi. I'm glad you are here.

Lyn August 16, 2013

You've got a great attitude!

crystal butterfly August 16, 2013

Note an extreme cold winter lover myself and especially not deep snows that block the drive. But I have so enjoyed this cooler sumer we've had. And you can get a lot of Nook reading in 3 1/2 hours.

Anaiss August 16, 2013

We drive through Aberdeen, WA (Kurt Cobain's hometown) on our way to the Oregon coast, all the time. The town is very poor now and all the parts that we drive through look tired and run down and in need of TLC. The town used to make its money from logging, and they still has a big logging festival each year -- one time on our way to the coast we inadvertently got caught up in it. I hope Lucky enjoys his day and that you successfully block out the noise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.