She's with him again in The start of something?

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 4:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night, the four of us, hubby, daughter and son, went to see my nephews band. He's only 14 and he's the bands drummer and lead vocalist. He is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! This kid is a prodigy!!

Anyhow that's not what I wanted to write about. I had to pick my daughter up from the city when we were off to see my nephew's band. She was with that loser boyfriend of hers.

However we had a nice time seeing the band, almost as a family. It was nice.

Then when we got home daughter tells me that she's working with boyfriend till 1.30am tonight and because it's so late, she's going to share a cab back to his place after work and stay there, then come home on Saturday.

I feel sick... I HATE the thought of her with him!!! But she's 18 and I can't force her to stay home. She knows I don't like it. I just don't know what to do. I feel like if I keep saying how bad he is (which I haven't) it will just push her towards him. I just have to hope this thing runs it's course QUICKLY! And hope to god she doesn't get some disease...


Satellite Six August 16, 2013

Does your daughter know how you feel? Years ago in high school I dated this guy that was totally wrong for me, I knew it, everyone knew it, but NO ONE would say so. I asked my family why they never said anything an they said they thought if they did it would push me towards him even more. My thoughts on that is if they had nagged me about him, yeah, I probably would have stayed with him as a rebellious thing, but if they would have just talked to me like I was an adult with a good head on my shoulders and explained reasonably WHY they didn't like him in a way that showed they actually cared about me and weren't trying to control me, it could have been a different story. I don't know the situation with your daughter. I just know what would have worked for me. Maybe you've already tried that. I wish you luck.

January Child Satellite Six ⋅ August 16, 2013

Hi and thanks for your comment. Yeah she knows how i feel. She asked me if I was angry that she was seeing him and I said not angry, but I didn't understand why she was seeing him because he seems to be everything she's always been against. We've talked like that before. She knows I'm not happy about it but i know I have no control. I can't lock her in her room. She can only know how I feel and ultimately she's responsible for her actions. You're experience was interesting too though... funny, we do often think not to nag too much because we think it will drive them the opposite way but then how do they know how you really feel? I've been honest with her. I haven't pretended to be happy with what she's doing but unfortunately she does have to get there on her own and i just hope she won't get too hurt.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.