First Month of Summer Vacation in In the Meadow

  • July 28, 2016, 7:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The first month of summer vacation has come to a close. We have been busy. Much busier than I thought we would be, actually. My mom passed away at the end of May and I thought we would have more quiet moments, but life goes on.

Right after school let out at the end of June my husband and I spent two nights at a bed and breakfast. The kids stayed with my dad and stepmother. It was very nice, although I kept thinking about the time Marge and Homer spent the night at a bed and breakfast on the Simpsons. They had a pool and we spent most of our time lounging around by the pool.

On the weekend before the Fourth of July we went to a fireworks display at a park. It was nice. The kids wanted glow in the dark wands, so we indulged them. It was a really nice night for it.

During the middle of July we went to Maine for a week. My husband’s parents have rented a cabin up there for years. The cabin is right on a lake and we went swimming every day. There is a dock to fish from. The kids did pretty well with fishing. We went to the coast of Maine and went up Mount Battie. We also climbed up some local hills.

The kids are at soccer day camp this week. The camp ends tomorrow. I still can’t believe that in a month I am going to be the mom of two high-schoolers and a sixth-grader.

I am going to try to catch up on some of my faves over the next few days.


ODSago July 28, 2016

I regret that your mother died. I hope the lovely summer for a family with teen children was healing and all of you are ready for fall when it arrives.

star_north July 29, 2016

Sorry to hear about your mom.

I can't believe your kids are so big already! I read your diary when they were like 5 or 6, I think!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.