A foggy morning in Talk Story

  • July 27, 2016, 3:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

As on many mornings here on the southern coast of Oregon… there is fog… water in it’s most mystical incarnation…

There is fog over the ocean… fog up the river… and fog in the forest behind my house…

I got up early (6 am) and went outside and sat on my back deck… so much fog overnight that water was dripping from the leaves on the trees… that pitt… pitt… pitt… sound that I find so delightful…

As I got lost looking at the fog… it is as though nothing else exists… the mist swirling among the branches of the trees… the filtered sunlight… and even the dull sounds of the animals waking up and scurrying about…

No wind… or perhaps just a bit of breeze stirring… I like to think of it as fog loves to cover… as wind loves to disperse…

It’s now early afternoon… and I have just returned from having lunch in town with friends… the fog is gone… replaced by clear blue sky…

And once again… I’m off to the beach… (yes… it’s still foggy at the ocean)…

A hui hou…


ODSago July 27, 2016

on little cat feet...

Maui Jim ODSago ⋅ July 27, 2016

Yes... Yes... Yes...! (smiles)

Deleted user July 27, 2016

You get all kinds of weather up there. :-)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 27, 2016

For sure...! (smiles)

TruNorth July 27, 2016

Lots of fog at the city house and the Lake. Lots of foggy mornings. When we lived near London UK, I hardly ever saw fog - not like in Sherlock Holmes books. Maybe things were different in the 1800's.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ July 27, 2016

Isn't there a song that goes: "in foggy London town"...?

middle age pearl July 28, 2016

I've never been fond of driving in heavy fog but to be surrounded by it and the encompassing way it seems to seep inside of you is very comforting and a bit disconcerting at the same time. It can feel alive.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ July 28, 2016

I agree... I don't like having to drive in it... but I do enjoy it's beauty otherwise...

dream seeker July 28, 2016

The an truly be beautiful. It can be haunting as well. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the beach! :)

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 28, 2016

My home is just across the road from the beach... and most days I find time to visit it... (smiles)

crystal butterfly July 29, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.