She's here! in Musings

  • July 24, 2016, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

She is here! We are home and could not be happier. She’s a perfect little snuggle bunny. Big sister loves her SO much and she is just the perfect addition to our family.

Her birth was not exactly ideal and very unexpected. Here’s the basic run down of the birth of you like birth stories. Thursday night we got to the hospital and I took one dose of Cytotec around 4 am and went to sleep. I woke back up and started pitocin at around 8:30 the next morning. At that time I was at a 2 cm, fully effaced, and baby was at -1 station. I got to take in turn walking and then laying down being checked by the monitors. The contractions got pretty intense (as they tend to do with pitocin) around 4-5 cm so I went ahead and got my epidural then. I progressed to an 8 by around 2 pm. And then got stuck there. Baby wasn’t dropping. They tried everything and put me in different positions but nothing worked. At one point her heart rate dropped and that was scary. So we ended up deciding on a c-section. I was nervous but both the doctor and anestoologist helped me so much and kept me calm. Plus Nathan is amazing in these situations and just held my hand and kept me calm and even smiling through it.

Alexandra Jane was born at 7:31. She was 8 lbs and 3 oz!! Once everyone saw how big she was we all weren’t surprised she didn’t make it. She also was sunny side up and in general just not in a good position. All in all it was the right decision and baby was healthy. Her blood sugar was a bit low but after the first day it regulated. I’m still sore but healing pretty well overall. We got to come home even quicker than expected since the doctor said we were both doing so well. I’m so happy to be home and to have my two precious girls here. And of course my husband who was such a huge support through it all. He got up with Alex all through the time at the hospital since I wasn’t very mobile. He took great care of both of us. I couldn’t ask for someone more calm, even tempered, and loving to care for us all.

I can not figure out how to do images here. I thought I was doing it right but it still won’t work. If someone wants to walk me through it in a note that would be great. I would love to show off my cuties! :)


Star Maiden July 25, 2016

<3

Oracle July 25, 2016

I am so happy she is here and with you!

pulchritude July 30, 2016

congratulations!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.