Of Pineapples and Walks and Things Within my Control in Understanding the Unthinkable

  • July 24, 2016, 8:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been busy picking pineapples. I’ve pulled 22 so far (given away about 7 or 8) and all that is left are 6 small pineapples, but we have more plants that will probably be producing baby pineapples in a few months, so we have something to look forward to. Here’s a shot of the second picking:

alt text

I try to get them before they turn too golden. If I don’t, critters eat them before I can get to them!

alt text

My son’s friend made me a pineapple upside down cake:

alt text

It was made with sweetened condensed milk, so it was too sweet for my taste. I made some using pineapple juice instead:

alt text

We had a good walk up the giant hill today. We went straight up, the steepest way, across the top, then all the way to the bottom, then straight up the back side. After that, we did three more inclines. Then my husband went to the car while I did one more incline. That’s the most we’ve ever done! Good workout for the legs!

I’ve been stressed lately. Partly still missing Nick and hating that his name hardly gets mentioned anymore, partly work stress (taking on a new client and the site supervisor has a big chip on his shoulder), partly feeling as if everything I touch turns to dust. Partly worry over my husband’s health.

Pastor Kevin gave a good sermon today and mentioned a book (“Seven Things Successful People do”, I think) where the author states that you have this wide circle of things and events happening in your life and most are out of your control, but that successful people focus on a smaller circle of things you CAN control. He also said that worry is fear, which I agree with.

So today, I celebrate two things I CAN control: pineapples and walks!


elaine2 July 24, 2016

You can also share one memory of Nick with us every time you write an entry.

ConnieK elaine2 ⋅ July 24, 2016

That's a good idea. Hello, elaine2. I used to talk to an elaine2 over at OD. Are you one and the same? :)

GypsyWynd July 24, 2016

I agree with elaine. We would love to hear about Nick.
It's interesting how people deal with grief. Mom and I talk about Dad a lot. Brother, on the other hand, never mentions him. But he insisted on bringing Dad's piano with them to FL.
Mom makes pineapple upside down cake, and she doesn't use condensed milk or pineapple juice that I know of.
I think it's time to make piña coladas, and sip them by the pool. You've earned it after that walk!!

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ July 24, 2016

A piña colada party is DEFINITELY planned...just waiting for my husband to finish his last round of treatment!
Thank you for saying that about Nick. I might do it. It'll make me cry, though and sometimes it's easier to tamp down the hurt.

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ July 24, 2016

We'll just cry along with you. {{hugs}}

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ July 24, 2016

I love you. You're just the best. HUGS

elaine2 ConnieK ⋅ July 25, 2016

Well, if there are times when it helps to get it out, here is a great place to do that. Even if we can't give you a real hug, we can sure give you a big cyberhug.

middle age pearl July 24, 2016

I too use the pineapple juice when I make pineapple upside cake. One of my favorite cakes.
Wonder if my daughter used condensed milk when she made one. It was way to sweet for me. Think she thought so to. I'll have to ask her.
Good gracious you for sure did a good walk!!

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ July 24, 2016

I'd never heard of using sweetened condensed milk in that sort of cake. A poke cake, yes, but pineapple upside down already has the sweetness from the pineapple, the cherries, and the brown sugar.
Trying to get in as much walking as I can this week because next week won't be as often.

M July 25, 2016

Impressed, I am! We have pineapples growing willy nilly around the yard from pineapple tops of fruits we bought at the store. They never mature to that full size!

ConnieK M ⋅ July 25, 2016

Yes, that's how we got started. Try putting them in full sun. They seem to grow bigger and heavier than those in the shade.

Ferret Mom July 25, 2016

Awesome of your son's friend to cook something for you.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ July 25, 2016

I thought so, too! It was her first attempt!

QueenSuzu August 02, 2016

With all those pineapples, you could make them into juice instead of pineapple cake. So you ever grill them? Put some jerk seasoning on them for some quick or brown sugar for sweetness. I think that would be great if you shared more stories about nick here, I would love to hear more about him. If you cry, we will cry too, when you laugh, we will laugh too.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ August 02, 2016

We juiced two of the smaller ones. Yes, they're wonderful grilled. I don't add anything. I find the grill brings out the natural sugars. Thanks. I had a setback recently.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.