Yet MORE wedding stuff in Diary

  • July 22, 2016, 5:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sorry for just talking about our wedding all the time. Like a lot of ladies, I’ve been looking forward to my wedding since I was a little girl and now I’m actually planning it, I’m really excited. Be warned, you have another nine months of this and it’s probably going to get worse as we get closer!

People always seem surprised when they ask how the wedding plans are going and we say “Yeah, it’s fine thanks.” I think they want us to be panicking because everyone says “You don’t have long! Time will fly by! It’ll be here before you know it!” Yes thank you, we know exactly how much time we have. We got engaged 17 months ago and have another nine months before the wedding. I have spreadsheets and lists and all sorts of documents on my computer, and that’s why we’re so laid back about it, because I am EXCELLENT at organising stuff. I might be panicking a little closer to the time, worried that the band might not turn up or the cake will fall over or something, but this is a time to ENJOY, not to panic. And we’re doing fine. This is what we have done so far:
Venue - Booked
Registrar - Booked
Notice - Given
They are the three most basic legal things that have to be done, now it officially means the wedding can go ahead even if we do nothing else.
Photographer - Booked
DJ - Booked
Wedding party - Chosen, asked and accepted
Guest list - Draft written
Save the date - Sent out and some people have already booked rooms
Dress - Bought, needs adjustments
Rings - Chosen, need to find the best price
Suits for groom and other men in the wedding party - Chosen
Transport - I’ll stay at the hotel the night before with my family so I won’t need transport. Jay will need it but I’ll leave it to him to sort.
Band - Pencilled in
Food and drink - Provided by the venue. We’re having a buffet and just need to choose which items we want
Invitations - Started looking at designs
Table decorations - I have an idea of what I want, Jay hasn’t thought about it
Music - Walking down the aisle music was chosen about 20 years ago, haha. First dance was chosen years before we even got engaged. Not thought about the signing the register music or walking up the aisle music yet
Hair, make up, nails, jewellery, cake, flowers, table favours, gifts for wedding party - Not thought of yet but these are details and we have plenty of time for all of that.

It’s all coming together nicely!

My interview for the promotion at work is on Tuesday at 2pm. There are six of us being interviewed for it but I’ve been told in secret that it’s basically down to me and one other person, and a few people have come to me and said they hope I get it, one lady even said she’s recommended me to our line manager! Exciting stuff :o)

Next Thursday me and Jay are going to Cambridge Folk Festival with his dad. His dad goes every year. I’ve only actually heard of three acts on the line up, but it should hopefully be a nice chilled out few days. Actually one of the acts is Glen Hansard and it’s sort of thanks to him that me and Jay ended up together, and our first dance song at the wedding is by him so that will be very nice to see him. Four more days of camping, though…well, as long as it isn’t as muddy as Download Festival was, that will be an improvement.


Last updated July 22, 2016


Camdengirl July 22, 2016

I think people just enjoy making a bit of a drama out of weddings... Really organising even a big wedding isn't that big a deal when you consider what goes into booking a festival or a big conference of say 500-20,000 people.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ July 22, 2016

Very true, when you think about it, it really is just a conference for X amount of people. As long as they get fed and watered, everything else is really just a bonus!

history of love July 22, 2016

I wonder if I'm one of the only women who hasn't planned her wedding in theory. I mean, I know the venue I'd like and I know a dress that looks amazing but yeah. (actually I know I'm not because my friends are the same). It's not boring to read about though! :)

Anyway, it sounds as if you're well organised and maybe people are not used to that? Fingers crossed for the interview!

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ July 22, 2016

No I'm sure there are plenty that aren't too bothered about it, but there are also plenty who have it all planned. I thought I knew what dress I wanted, but when I tried one on, it didn't look right on me at all and I ended up going for something completely different.

Yeah, it does make me wonder why everyone is panicking on our behalf...? If you give yourself plenty of time, there's nothing to worry about!

Bumbly history of love ⋅ July 22, 2016

I never thought about mine till I actually had to, and even then it was last minute lol

~Twinkle~ July 22, 2016

We were the same, big stuff all. organised and then loads of time. for the little things. the florist was the only person (and the cake lady) who needed 6 months notice. all the other stuff we did nearer the time. I was making favours on the monday before the wedding. :) x

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ July 22, 2016

I didn't know the cake maker and florist needed six months notice, so thanks for that, I'll start looking into those next :o)

I would also like a videographer as everyone says the day flies by so quickly, you can't remember any of it! So I should look into that soon as well.

~Twinkle~ Bomb Shell ⋅ July 22, 2016

They probably don't all need that much time, but always good to check :) we were lucky, my uncle videoed the whole day for us :) x

Babe In Toyland July 22, 2016

I'm another one who hasn't really put much thought into a wedding! But then again, I'm not sure it's ever going to happen anyway!
You should be panicking, it makes other people happy. ;)

Canadian Lass July 22, 2016

You got this girl!

Bumbly July 22, 2016

Wave on your way by to Cambridge! I thought about you when we were on the M6 last weekend for what felt like 7 years lol

Bomb Shell Bumbly ⋅ July 22, 2016

It feels like seven years every day on my way to and from work haha >-<

Bumbly Bomb Shell ⋅ July 22, 2016

Haha I did feel sorry for you after we had to drive so much of it and it was rubbish on a Sunday evening let alone rush hour!

mutedexposure July 23, 2016

I love reading your wedding stuff. I'm living vicariously through you. Plus it helps to remind me if we need to do anything else for Austin's wedding.

puffin July 24, 2016

I'm under 3 weeks away from mine and sick of planning it!! Can't wait for it to be the day now..though I'm sure I'll have forgotten something major, just remembered I haven't hired glasses!! You sound well oj top of it xx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ July 24, 2016

Oooh three weeks how exciting! I hope we get to hear all about it and see photos :o)

Lucretia July 25, 2016

You're really organised. I think a lot of people just like to scare you with wedding things because they're a little jealous themselves. You've got all the important stuff sorted, it's details and trimmings you've got left and that's just fine. You don't want to do everything too quickly as you want to have fun with the planning too, not just the day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.