School days in Safety Net

  • July 22, 2016, 7:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What year did you graduate?
Based on other questions, I’m going to assume we are referring to high school. 2002.

Did you know your spouse?
Seeing as how I don’t have one of those, and at 32 years old my odds of finding one get worse every day, I’m going to have to say no.

Did you car pool to school?
No.

What kind of car did you have?
I had a tan, 88 Ford Tempo. The few friends I had and I called it the Joi Mobile (the letters on the plate spelled Joi, which is how my aunt spelled her middle name). It was a complete piece of crap, but it made us laugh.

What kind of car do you have now?
A metallic gray, 2011 Ford Focus. She still doesn’t really have a name. I sort of went with Lucille, but I always think of the infamous misheard lyrics, “You picked a fine time to leave me, loose wheel,” and that just doesn’t work. A friend recommended Princess Peach since I always say peachy and it fits my nerdiness. I just can’t seem to get her named. Anyway, I love my car except in winter. It sucks in snow. Then I miss Franz.

It is Friday night… where are you?
Most likely at home.

What kind of job did you have in high school?
I didn’t really have a job. I detassled one summer. My senior year I was the head nursery attendant at my church. I guess I did work at a pizza place briefly.

What kind of job do you have now?
Closing manager at a gas station. I’m living the dream.

Were you a party animal?
Ha! No.

Were you considered a jock?
Not even close.

Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
All of the above. Technically we didn’t have orchestra, but I played in the pit orchestra every year.

Were you a nerd? Sort of. I proudly wear the title now. Back then I didn’t care enough about my grades. My classmates knew I was smarter than them, but they didn’t know my grades and never understood why I wasn’t in National Honor Society. I drove my teachers crazy. I constantly scored in the top of my class on standardized tests and even in class I did well on tests, but tests were only a small part of grades. I didn’t do horribly in school, but I could have done a lot better and my teachers would get super frustrated with me.

Did you get suspended or expelled?
Both

Can you sing the fight song?
Yes.

Who was/were your favourite high school teachers?
The choir director, the band director that came my senior year (the first one was an ass), and the main science teacher (the only science class he didn’t teach was biology). And the main math teacher. I hated math. I was always good at it, but I hated it.

Where did you sit at lunch?
For the first three years, in the choir room usually. I had no friends. The choir director used to have to lock me in to keep my classmates away from me. Kids can be so cruel.

What was your school’s full name?
It was (name of town) High School

What was your school mascot?
We didn’t have one lol

If you could go back and do it again, would you?
Oh hell no

Did you have fun at Prom?
I didn’t go

Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with?
N/A

Are you planning on going to your next class reunion?
I will never go to a class reunion. Unless I win the lottery and marry some super hot, famous guy with lots of money so I can make everyone jealous. Yes, when it comes to a high school reunion, I would be that shallow.

Are you still in contact with people from school?
Not really. I have a couple of people that were halfway decent to me on Facebook, but I don’t really talk to them much.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.