Summer at last in The View from the Terrace

  • July 22, 2016, 4:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I wanted summer and last week it arrived with a vengence, highs of 33 degrees on Monday, that’s just over 90 fahrenheit. I spent that day putting the cool cotton sheets on the bed, dusting off the fan which was covered in bits of plaster from when Tony used it while decorating his room, and putting up the netting to the windows so that we can have them open without worrying about hornets coming in. We have seen several this year but they only seem to appear when it gets really hot.

We went to our folk club Tuesday night. I was finally able to wear the lovely indian skirt which I bought this time last year in Cardiff when I was staying with Cat. The moment I bought it summer disappeared and only returned the week we were on holiday and I hadn’t packed it! It was a lovely evening, so good sitting there in the warm summer evening with all of the pub doors open singing folk songs. Longtown, where we meet is high up in the Black Mountains. The stars are amazing up there on a clear night.

Last Saturday we went to a summer fete at a local care home. It is a lovely old converted hunting lodge. If I had to end up in a home I wouldn’t mind if it was that one but someone told Hubby it’s over £500 a week so dream on Sabrina-Belle!
alt text

There was a dog show. It was a pity that we hadn’t got Billie Jean with us this week as I am sure she would win a prize. Music was provided by a lady playing folk tunes on the violin accompanied by another on a harp.
alt text

I’ve been spending time in the garden this week. It is starting to look really lovely now that the fuchsias are coming out. This is a photo I took about 2 weeks ago. The foxgloves are almost over now.
alt text


^..^Kat July 22, 2016

Beautiful pictures! The heat is hitting here too, way too much for my tastes. It's not even noon here and it's 36 C. I need fall. :)

Deleted user July 22, 2016

Great pictures ! Glad you had a good time. It's been deadly hot here now too.

MemoryFails July 24, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.