More of the Same in Diary

  • July 19, 2016, 8:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

More Work Stuff
So we got another update from work yesterday. Basically, our new boss is going to be someone internal, Stephen. Our current boss who is leaving is going to be replaced by a regular helpdesk coordinator (which is what I do, along with eight other people) and Lee, who is the supervisor above us but below Stephen, is going to have someone join him, and it’s going to be one of us! There are either three, four or five of us applying for it (two people haven’t decided yet), and I jumped at the chance. I’ve worked in admin since 2005 and I’ve never been officially promoted. In my last job, my boss was promoted into another department and was never replaced, so I was left to manage the office in everything but name, so hopefully that will help my application. Also, whenever Lesantha is on holiday, she always unofficially puts me second in command to assist Lee. Add to that everyone always seems to come to me for advice when they’re stuck, even though I’ve only been here the same amount of time as most other people. So I think I’m in with a pretty good chance. Exciting times.

More Wedding Stuff
I bought my wedding dress yesterday, from Monsoon of all places! The one I really wanted, I fell in love with when I tried it on in October last year, but I couldn’t find it again plus it was hella expensive. Then I saw Monsoon were selling a very similar one, and it was on sale from £399 down to £120; about 10% of the price of Dream Dress! So I went and tried it on and couldn’t believe how similar it really was to the Dream Dress. So I bought it! It needs a few adjustments to make it perfect, for example there’s no train and it needs a sparkly belt and maybe a few sparkly bits on the skirt. So I need to find a good seamstress who can add a floaty train or a wateau, I can afford to do that as I’ve saved so much on the dress. Once it’s teamed with a tiara, bouquet, shoes, jewellery and veil (which Jay’s best man’s wife has offered to loan to me from her wedding, and it is beautiful, so that can be my something borrowed) it’s going to look amazing. Excited now to have found a dress and such a good bargain!


history of love July 19, 2016

Monsoon do lovely dresses! It was obviously meant to be :)
I hope you get the promotion. Is slacker boy going for it too!? If the new boss is internal maybe he knows slacker boy is a slacker??

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ July 19, 2016

The promotion is to work alongside slacker boy to do the same job he's already doing...so I'm hoping he doesn't take it as an opportunity to slack further!

history of love Bomb Shell ⋅ July 19, 2016

I see. Hm. Well if you got the promotion at least you'd be equals so you could talk to him about his slacking and how it effects your work/the team?

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ July 20, 2016

He seems to have been doing ok the last couple of weeks since he got a proper talking to, but yeah, if he does start slacking again I get this promotion, I'll be in the right place to talk to him about it!

Deleted user July 19, 2016

Good luck with applying for the promotion!

~Twinkle~ July 19, 2016

great news re work and the dress! xx

Babe In Toyland July 22, 2016

Happy sis is happy. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.