Weekend in bullets in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 17, 2016, 9:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Saturday
Picked a few green beans
washed dishes
did laundry
enjoyed time on the front porch with my coffee
washed and snapped the beans I picked
added those to the ones I’d picked earlier in the week and put them on to cook
made a pea salad
sliced cucumbers in vinegar water with some onion to soak until supper
cut and sewed up a couple of bandana type bibs
added potatoes to the green beans
worked on removing a bunch of wadded up threads in the machine :(
crocheted a dish cloth with nylon netting in the center for scrubbing
ate supper of green beans and potaoes, pea salad, cucumbers, 3 cherry tomatoes and ham steak. (Way too much starch but that is how it worked out this time)
watched tv and then to bed

Sunday
did dishes
made another gallon of hummingbird sugar water (need to buy more sugar)
cut out another bib front and back
took a shower and dressed to go to church
went to ss and church
ate breakfast/lunch when I got home. Fixed a fried egg sandwich a handful of Doritos and a cup of coffee
completed another bib and then put snaps on all three of them
A and O came a bit to visit and share their vacation highlights
O brought me some sea shells from the Gulf of MS
Fixed smoked sausage for supper and heated up left over green beans and potatoes, got out the pea salad, cucumbers and no tomatoes. Maybe tomorrow.
Just watching TV since supper is over and will go to bed soon.

Hope the AC people show up in the morning as promised. I have things I want to do and places to go.

Take care and God Bless

Monday-6:00 AM
It is going to be a hot week. Heat advisory. Temp already at 74. The heat just drains my energy. So does the cold in the winter. *sigh Apparently I’m “drained” often.


Last updated July 18, 2016


GypsyWynd July 18, 2016

What a busy weekend!!! Remember when we were that busy all weekend and then had to go to work on Monday??!!
What is your recipe for pea salad?

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ July 18, 2016

Pea Salad
Frozen Peas (thawed in fridge)
Onions
Bacon
Mayo (real)
Shredded Cheddar Cheese
Pepper and salt to taste if needed

I didn't write down any of the quantities of anything cause I kinda guesstimate it and taste test it. I've also used boiled eggs and you can add tomatoes. Actually you can add whatever you would like.

GypsyWynd middle age pearl ⋅ July 18, 2016

Thanks! That sounds very tasty. As if anything with bacon, cheese, and mayo could be bad! LOL

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ July 18, 2016

Oh I forgot to list Paprika, but I won't use it again or if I do, just a little.

GypsyWynd middle age pearl ⋅ July 18, 2016

I assume the paprika is just for color on top? (I wouldn't bother with it, either)

FormerlyMe July 18, 2016

sounds lovely, I would love your heat.. but keep hydrated.

middle age pearl FormerlyMe ⋅ July 18, 2016

Yes, I'm sure you would. I hope you get your AC fixed soon!

ConnieK July 18, 2016

You sure did accomplish a lot! Sounds as if you have an abundance of produce these days. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.