Moving Day One in Miscellaneous Things

  • Aug. 15, 2013, 10:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(This was written a couple of weeks ago)

It’s so nice to finally sit down and relax after moving non-stop over the weekend. I was originally scheduled to work Saturday, but I was able to switch my shift from Saturday to Friday. I only worked from 7 a.m.-noon; afterwards, I went home to check on reserving a truck over the weekend. Unfortunately, every uhaul place we looked at was completely booked for the time we were looking (fri from 6:30 p.m. until Saturday night). I was finally able to land a 24’ box truck for Saturday night until Sunday evening. Trey told me he would be able to help us move, so I spent the rest of Friday relaxing.

I woke up early on moving day to take care of some things. I opened up a new checking account, went to the Laundromat to dry my clothes, and drove over to the new house and picked up our new key and garage door opener. I went by Taco Bell to get something to eat then came home. I was surprised to see my cousin and aunt over at the old house; they were helping my mom pack up everything she had in the kitchen. I unloaded everything from the food pantry and the second refrigerator. Once we had enough boxes packed, I took my car while my cousin took her car, and we made our way to the new house. Once that load was dropped off, I went back to the old house to grab another set of boxes and any other items I could fit in my aunt’s car. While there, my sister called me and wanted to see if we could pick up the uhaul earlier than the 6:30 reservation. The guy on the phone said we could possibly pick it up around 6:15 at the earliest. So, we loaded my car and my sister’s suburban the best we could. At this time, Trey pulled up in the driveway. We were already pushing 5:30 at this point, so we all drove over to the new house to unload the cars.

After that, my sister, Trey, my nieces and I all piled up in her suburban and drove up to pick up the uhaul. Trey and I immediately went back to the old house and started packing up the truck. We spent the next three hours loading up everything we could. We finished loading up the dining room, the laundry room, both bedrooms, the refrigerator in the kitchen, the green sofa, a few chairs, all of the tvs and entertainment centers, and my computer desk. We rolled out of there around 10:30ish. We made it to the new house and started unloading everything around 11.

The green sofa gave us a hard time b/c of how narrow the door is to my computer room. As a reward, my sister fixed us nachos for our fourth meal lol. We were getting tired lol. Trey finally left around 2ish. I still had a few items on the back of the truck, but I knew he wanted to go home. Trey really came through for us, and we wouldn’t have gotten as much done if he had plans for the day. Because we were able to put up both bedrooms, my mom and I decided we would stay the night. I finally went to bed around 3:30. Even though I had to work Sunday, everyone agreed that I needed to call out, so we could go ahead and get everything done. I woke up around 6:30, so I could call out lol. I was originally scheduled to work from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Darryl wasn’t going to be back in town until early Sunday morning, and we only had the truck until 6:30 Sunday morning. So, I called the attendance hotline and told them I would be unable to make it. Afterwards, I went back to bed and didn’t get up again until 11:30 lol. I will post the second part of moving day later J.

Here's some pics of the house.

Front of the house.

 photo 20130727_121526.jpg

Side of the house.

 photo 20130729_183820.jpg

Back of the house.

Back door/patio photo 20130729_183846.jpg

Better view.

Back of the house photo 20130729_183856.jpg

View from the front yard.

Neighborhood view 2 photo 20130729_183748.jpg

This is from the side of the house.

Neighborhood view 3 photo 20130729_183757.jpg

Neighborhood View 5 photo 20130729_183752.jpg

Neighborhood view 4 photo 20130729_183832.jpg


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.