Thunder, Lightening, Rain, and Wind in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 14, 2016, 9:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We’ve had at least 2 pretty good size Thunderstorms with all of the above. One hit while I was at sister’s admiring the newest addition to the family who was sleeping through it all. Smart choice. We almost went to the basement, but then the winds calmed down. The other hit last night or early morning. Lots of tree limbs all over the yard in front. Largest tomato plant will need something to upright the tallest part of it which is now draped over the tomato cage. It kinda makes me sick although I don’t see a whole lot of major damage. It just looks creepy outside with so many limbs and branches everywhere. I AM thankful nothing hit the house or the shop building or the trailer. I estimate we received about 4 inches since yesterday afternoon.

J got written up for sleeping at work yesterday. The deflating thing about that is, he denied it. That does not make me a happy mom. Since I didn’t know about this until I read my email this morning, I didn’t talk to him about it. I knew something had happened to upset him but when I asked him if he got into trouble for sleeping he told me no! He is going to have a different kind of weekend than he is used to. Grrrr.

It is still supposed to rain more. Oh joy. It is too wet to do anything outside this morning except inspect the damage from the storm. Not sure my tomato plants are going to survive much more wind and they are actually beginning to to blush to turn red and ripe. Guess time will tell if these acrobatics they’ve been through will continue and they just give up. I certainly will do what I can to save them though. I most certainly won’t need to water for a few days.

I think A is ready to come home from the beach time and vacation in MS. They are enjoying it a lot, however, being in close quarters with a friend and her daughter and no private time is getting to take some of the “fun” out of it. I never said a word about this being possible because both young women were soooo excited about this plan but being with someone (even a friend) 24/7 for 9 days can push that friendship a bit too far. Out of those 9 days they still have 3 more days to go so when I talked to her yesterday I told her they (the adult girls) need to get some space. The problem is, A doesn’t have wheels as the other girl drove, but they need to figure something out to get a few hours apart before it blows up the friendship. The other girl’s husband ended up driving to join them yesterday and there is a story behind that, I’m not going to try to remember. It will either give them the break they need since maybe the husband and wife can go somewhere together and possibly take their child or just go somewhere to give the two adult women a break from each other.

Isaiah did spend the evening and night here last night and is still sleeping. His dad will be here later and they are going to work on his lawn mowing equipment. Hope he gets the part he needs today. He did get the part yesterday, but of course it wasn’t the right one.

So I’m just a tad overwhelmed this morning. I need to pick up all the limbs and pick up the yard again. I need to reinforce the tomato plants that need it. And the most depressing and overwhelming task is to somehow get J to use his Bi-pap while he’s sleeping. I’m going to switch out the mask today for him to use tonight and see if that helps. Not going to count on it, but I’ve nothing to lose anymore. And HE is going to lose his job if he can’t stay awake to do his job. I can’t seem to get that end result through his head if he doesn’t use it to get more rest, to be able to stay awake during the day. I’m feeling totally like a defeated and lost parent and have no idea what to do to fix it. I’m the fixer. I am the fixer failure right now. *sigh

I had sent an email to the WS Sec to have her have J call me when he got to work and he did just a few minutes ago. We had a long talk and I tried an incentive that if he gets 5 trays done before the 2:30 break he will get a mountain dew. Not the best plan I’ve ever had, but I feel like this is a last resort and one that won’t happen often if ever again. *sigh IF he can’t stay awake they’ve been told to call me and I’ll go the 30 miles and pick him up. He’ll come home to no Playstation options. That should reinforce the plan!

Isaiah is up so I’m outta here. Take care and God Bless


Roseoftexas July 14, 2016

Now you listen here, you are a WONDERFUL parent...even though I don't have children[and I regret it] I can see how people are with their kids and I can see the great parent in you...J is very luck to have you... ♥

So many areas are having bad storms, I just pray they are not anything like we had here...stay safe,♥

aunty EM July 15, 2016

Hoping J has a good day at work today.

ConnieK July 15, 2016

That storm sounds as if it was the equivalent of a Category One hurricane. I was hiking and missed the news.
I feel for A. I go on vacation to take a break from friends and family.
Sometimes kids need to learn hard lessons and that isn't a reflection on your parenting...it's more about them choosing poorly.

Deleted user July 17, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.