More work and wedding stuff in Diary

  • July 14, 2016, 7:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Work
So we found out at work why our boss let her deputy get away with doing no work for the last six months, wiping the slate clean and starting again. Because she’s just told us that she’s leaving at the end of the month, so it’s not worth her while trying to discipline him. (She didn’t say that last bit but it’s obvious). I’m gutted, she’s the glue that holds the helpdesk together. She knows everything about everyone’s contracts, she can solve all the problems and has a huge wealth of knowledge. There is no one else who has this knowledge and willingness to work; all the options for in-house replacement are not favourable, and anyone from outside won’t have the knowledge specific to our particular contracts and customers. So I envisage more bad times ahead…

Wedding
We went wedding ring shopping on Saturday in Birmingham’s jewellery quarter. I’ve never been there before but literally about 90% of all the shops are jewellery shops, we didn’t know where to start. We ended up only going in three shops as they all seemed pretty much the same as each other. I don’t know how they all survive with so much competition. We found the rings we like right away, now we need to shop around to find the best prices. So that’s exciting.

We’ve reached our first wedding disagreement. I really want to have a local band playing, and Jay agreed ages ago. We’ve seen them loads of times and they play classic rock and metal covers from Black Sabbath, The Who, Led Zeppelin etc. and they are absolutely spot on; close your eyes and they almost sound the real thing. Jay has changed his mind and is now reluctant to have them because they’re not very good with communication and took ages to come back to me with a price. Which I agree is a worry, but I’d earmarked them before we were even engaged and would be very sad if we couldn’t have them. He has now decided he wants to have a soul band. He loves soul music, I’m not opposed to it but I don’t love it. Then he says we can have them both. Really? The party is going to last five and a half hours maximum, and we already have a DJ booked. Does he really think we’ll have time for two bands and a DJ? Including space for all their kit, swapping over, setting up, breaking down etc.? I think a big discussion is needed.

Fangirling
As a fangirly aside, I have lately been enjoying series three of Peaky Blinders. Me and Jay have watched it since the first episode, it’s filmed about five miles away from us at the Black Country Museum in Dudley, where I’ve been several times, and it’s all based in the local area so it’s been fun listening out for local place names we recognise. I have especially been enjoying Cillian Murphy; look at his cute little nose! Tom Hardy is also in it, so I have no idea why I haven’t been stalking them during filming. There are at least two more series planned so I think some stalking may be called for next time they’re in the area.

I’m sure I had more stuff to write about but it’s completely gone out of my head. I got distracted by lovely Cillian…


Last updated July 14, 2016


Hypnotica July 14, 2016

2 bands an a DJ seems a bit much, its a wedding not a gig! Also surely that would be expensive?! I would stick to your guns and say you want the other band. I'm so glad Jonathan had absolutely no wedding preferences haha!

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ July 14, 2016

Jay lives for music so he wants it to be perfect in that sense. But yeah, I think two bands is a bit excessive, I think he's just being stubborn, as I got to choose a band, he wants to choose one as well, even though he originally agreed with my choice. And yeah, the price is another factor...it's going to end up costing close to £1,000 for the entertainment alone!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.