June/July in Majimaze Musing!

  • July 13, 2016, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello there readers!

I have been told to write an entry by ‘she who must be obeyed’ so I comply!

This is a huge era of change and it is difficult to know where to start.With Brexit or the US riots or my own little life.And yes,I do live a small life and definitely prefer it that way,especially in mid-winter!I have said repetitively that I do not like winter and I am repeating it.Much of it has to do with my arthritic toes,which hate being enclosed in shoes and socks.The arthritis has caused me to have what is called ‘hammer toes.’Actually it is a misleading term.My toes crawl over each other.Yes,they curve over the next toe and in doing so make it very difficult to wear enclosed shoes.To complicate matters,I have warm feet all year round and this causes my feet to swell a bit and hence I end up only being able to wear,with any degree of comfort,trainers,sneakers whatever the term is, with wide toes!Not glamorous so sometimes I get reckless and wear,smart flat boost with socks,and the feet get crammed and cranky and flare up.
Last Sunday I went to church and wore smart shoes and socks and my feet got sore.Then I went to Toastmasters the next night with smart shoes and socks and my feet rebelled completely!Swollen toes that were so painful and reddish purple and I couldn’t sleep or rest for the pain and I was hardly able to walk!At some stage during the night,one toe split and bled,so for the last few days I have been taking care of the feet.I still have to walk my little dog twice a day ,altho I have cut out the early morning walk after I nearly fell 2 weeks ago on an icy pavement.So he gets a walk around the garden in morning and paddock walks in afternoon.
I will be wearing sneakers with no socks from now on when I go out!!The pain makes me bad tempered and sad.I had a bad horse accident which caused all this over 36 years ago.My toes have been nasty since about 2012.Enough of this pity party!!I am barefoot now.

I approved of Brexit.I hardly dare mention it as I am not a Pom.I am Kiwi.However, I am an avid reader of several very good British magazines,which I get from the Library.’Country Life’ being my favourite,.I also have friends who are Brits and follow their conversations and the ‘news’ which is biased and rather difficult to disseminate.
My sympathies were with the British farmers who have been devastated by the EU, 25% of the dairy farmers have had to sell their farms and many small holding arable farms have disappeared completely as a result of the dictates which come from the EU.These farmers are not the land-owning aristocracy,just ordinary Brit farmers.I also have some sympathy with the ordinary Brits locked in tenement living and no hope. The EU does not allow for the strugglers and they had a voice at last.The immigration policy has backfired badly too.Britain is a small country with a huge population and yet EU demanded they make way for more and more immigrants and refugees.To be honest,if the aristocrats were not the wealthy land owners as well,there would be more room.As it is,the immigrants are crammed in ghettos and adding to the problem.So,I could see,in my own opinion,that Brexit might be a catalyst to change.Also the biggest complainers were also the ones who didn’t vote!Go figure!Whatever, it makes for an interesting world,and I will watch closely.

As for the USA,I am very very sad about every aspect of what is happening.One could call it an upheaval, however,in my humble opinion ,it is more the ugly side of people power, and the police reacting in desperation.We have to have police in whatever nation we live, and armed and scared police are as liable to act badly as an ordinary person,white or black,if armed.I am sad about this.I sincerely hope that somebody or somebodies see sense and that includes police,otherwise we get anarchy.I cannot comment further as I am not involved in American politics and I feel I must stop.

The sun has come out!Yay!!And clear blue sky.

My family is fine and apart from my toes,so am I!!My son and my eldest daughter have made up after their differences and I restrained myself from commenting as much as I could.My eldest daughter is nearly 50 and my son 46 so really not my businessAnyway all sorted.

As I live a smaller life I enjoy myself more and more.I read widely and enjoy Toastmasters and I love seeing people and interacting with them on buses ,in the street and Supermarket etc,then coming home to my little nest.A number of people don’t agree with my beliefs and thats fine with me.And that includes my own family members and friends.I am still entitled to my opinions.For years I was very involved in Community matters and chaired a number of organisations and don’t feel the need to keep doing that in the slightest!!Every now and then,I give people a glimpse of my past.At Toastmasters a couple of weeks ago,I did a speech ofn my 10 years as an alcoholic and my recovery.I have been sober for 36 years.You could hear the jaws drop as I opened with the words,’My name is Angela and I am an alcoholic.’!!!It was a very successful speech.

Ah well,I am going to finish this now.No point in ‘gilding the lily!’Tee-hee!I do hope that some of you read this and love you all and there you are,’she who must be obeyed’!!!!Love you!

Lotsa love,
Majimazexxxxxx


GypsyWynd July 13, 2016

Sorry about your foot problems. I have painful feet, too.

Deleted user July 13, 2016

I am glad you got a little nudge to write. I am so sorry about the pain you have. Hang in there and stay barefoot as much as possible! :-)

majimaze July 13, 2016

Hi hun! About the title,I won't use it again hun!It was in jest and didn't mean to offend!Janet not well still and toes have subsided back to their normal/abnormal state!Thanks for the comment on my Brexit stuff too.Am trying for Library tomorrow and will get dog bikkies then and come to see you sometime next week.Lotsa love and hugsxxx

TruNorth July 14, 2016

You sound like a vibrant spirit - could even be mistaken for a spunky Brit! Good on ya!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.