Re: last entry in Talk Story

  • July 10, 2016, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

As my previous notes said:

There’s no black magic or psychic power at work here. When a mosquito bites a person, it injects a protein under the skin as it draws blood. This protein is what causes the skin irritation, but the heat from the metal spoon is effective in breaking it down, thus soothing the skin.

Remember to just warm the spoon… it doesn’t need to be so hot as to burn you…

And… it really worked for me…!

Also… did you know that only female mosquitoes bite…!

Also (yeah… there’s always another also)… I want to apologize for any confusion caused by moi… I did not know the three people that died…it was a father… his son… and a friend of the two of them…

As of this morning… they still have not located the plane… but they have found several oil slicks where they believe the plane is resting on the bottom… in about 40-50 feet of water…

Aloha oe…


Last updated July 10, 2016


Spilledperfume July 10, 2016

middle age pearl July 10, 2016

Well I am glad that it wasn't one of your friends, but it was a sad and tragic accident for all in the area I'm sure.

Thanks. I wondered how hot the spoon needed to be but wasn't going to get it hot enough to burn me. :)

nothispenelope July 10, 2016

40 - 50 what, of water? what's the measurement?

Maui Jim nothispenelope ⋅ July 10, 2016

Feet... sorry about that... but thanks for pointing it out to me... (smiles)

Deleted user July 10, 2016

I did a bit of reading about mosquitos when I arrived home from Hawaii. We were given a flyer when we boarded the cruise ship that said there had been some cases of dengue on the big island. We were advised to wear pants and long sleeve shirts - and use bug spray. I did this while on the big island but when I was in Maui I didn't and that's where I think I was bit by mosquitos numerous times. It's been 14 days now and I haven't become ill so I am going to be just fine. But mosquitos really aren't a good thing are they. I'm glad you don't leave the water sitting in your bird baths. Keeping it fresh will keep the mosquitos away which I know you already know. From now on I'm always going to look at mosquitos in an entirely different way.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 10, 2016

The reason I change the water in the bird baths... isn't to keep the mosquitoes away... but to keep any eggs from hatching as it takes 7 days for the little critters to hatch...

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 10, 2016

Ah, I sure didn't know that about mosquito eggs. I do see where keeping the mosquitos eggs from hatching would be a very important thing to do. Are there many mosquitos in Brookings? Where I live we don't seem to have too big of a mosquito problem. Once in a great while one will get inside my home but I end up killing it. But I'm never bit by mosquitos here in Monterey. But when I was in Maui, it was a whole other story. I think I got bit by mosquitos when we were on the Road to Hana. Scary about the disease mosquitos carry. I read about dengue and it's really not a good thing to get. When I was in Kauai I was asked what island I got the mosquito bites on. I think there was some concern there. I'm just so very thankful that I am okay. I was kind of scared there for a while.

crystal butterfly July 10, 2016

Only female mosquitos bite and I've read that only female reindeer have antlers. So we need to remember that if it were not for females Santa couldn't get his gifts delivered!

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ July 10, 2016

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm... (smiles)

TruNorth July 11, 2016

Its rather futile to try and avoid mosquitos up at the Lake - they are everywhere. Must wear bug spray and mosquito nets, and even so the little menaces still find places to bite.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ July 11, 2016

Yes... nasty little critters...!

dream seeker July 12, 2016

For their families, I hope they find them. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.