Longing for real summer to begin in The View from the Terrace

  • July 10, 2016, 6:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh how I wish summer would come. We have only had the occasional sunny day since early June. Mostly it’s endless cloud filled days. It’s not even very warm. I finally discarded my thermal vests at the beginning of June when we had a few hot days, only to get them out again after just over a week. Thank goodness I hadn’t put the cool cotton sheets on the bed, we still have the winceyette ones and I have even put the electric blanket on a few times.

We haven’t been out at all since mid June, apart from shopping and my voluntary job. Usually we go to shows or open gardens in summer but it’s no fun this weather. On June 11th our village held a street party to celebrate the queen’s 90th. I think it’s the first time our village has ever put on an event. Usually we have to go to the next village for things like that. It was organised by the new people at the post office. They are very community minded people and a great asset.
alt text
alt text

We went to the Hay Festival at the beginning of the month. That was a great day out in that one week of summer that we have had so far. We wandered around looking at the books and even got pulled into a discussion on the philosophy of global hunger. I was amazed when my hubby actually joined the discussion. We had booked for a talk about the TV programme Poldark. Eleanor Tomlinson, who plays Demelza was there and also Debbie Horsfield who adapted the books for television. It was a great talk,

The other outing we had in June was to Fawley Court Gardens, an open day fundraiser for the charity I work for. Unfortunately it did rain that day but only that fine summer rain and I didn’t let it spoil the afternoon.
alt text


Last updated July 12, 2016


WildflowerHeart July 10, 2016

I would happily trade some sunshine for your clouds. It has been miserable hot here

Sabrina-Belle WildflowerHeart ⋅ July 12, 2016

Yes, the grass is always greener, isn't it. I love the heat but do get very tired when it's really hot.

Lady of the Bann July 10, 2016

Hot in Cyprus but a friend at home has told me about the cold and the rain.

^..^Kat July 11, 2016

Some of my friends in the UK are having the same complaints that you are. Mine are the opposite, it's stifling hot here. Just miserable.

Deleted user July 18, 2016

I deleted my account in a moment of insanity :-( so now I can't see anyone's entries and they can't see mine. Can I ask you to please add me again to your friend list ?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.