Stuff in Talk Story

  • July 9, 2016, 8:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

The evening of the 4th of July… about 10:30 pm… a plane flew over my house (I’m just a mile from the Brookings airport)… and four minutes after taking off… it crashed in the ocean just two miles from my house… about a quarter mile off of the beach…

The pilot and his son… and a friend… all died on impact…

They still haven’t recovered the plane… nor the passengers… but parts of the plane (nose gear, etc) have washed up on the shore…

After several weeks without rain… we got a fair amount yesterday… so today… after returning from running errands in town… I once again cleaned the gutters that were really clogged with leaves and pine-needles… as more rain is in the forecast…

On Wednesday… while working out in the yard… I got bit twice by a mosquito… I remembered that a friend told me to heat up a spoon… and place it on the bite… I did… and OMG… no more itch…!

So… stung by a bee… bitten by a mosquito… and I know things come in threes… guess I better be real careful when I’m outside… (smiles)

Hope all is well with you…

Aloha oe…


Spilledperfume July 09, 2016

How terrible about the plane crash.

Maui Jim Spilledperfume ⋅ July 10, 2016

Yes... so very sad for the families...

ConnieK July 09, 2016

Watch out for snakes and spiders. Sorry to hear of the plane crash. Our youngest has recently earned his first level pilot's license. I worry, but you can't hold them back.

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ July 09, 2016

OMG... that's right... I forgot about snakes and spiders (and squirrels and chipmunks too)... (smiles)

crystal butterfly July 09, 2016

So sad about the plane crash.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ July 10, 2016

Yes... we are quite a small community... so this big news here...

Deleted user July 09, 2016

John Denver crashed into the waters of the Monterey Peninsula while flying his plane. And then what about John F. Kennedy Jr. and his wife. So sad. Jim, I'm really sorry for your loss. Tragic. As far as mosquitos go I was bitten numerous times while in Hawaii. I was worried that I may become ill but I think I'm going to be okay. I'm sure you will be too. Hugs.

ODSago July 09, 2016

Sad about the plane crash so near. I know because one tried to land on the golf course behind our home...at night and neither my late husband or I awoke. It coasted about a mile away by car and crashed into a light pole, and the pilot died. Later I found his wife was my sister's friend. There are still flowers at that light pole in his memory.

Spoon trick...will try. Seems it would only burn the skin, though. Hope you get rain soon. Hmmmm, stung, bitten and then...(Keep us posted).

Maui Jim ODSago ⋅ July 10, 2016

As my previous note said:
There’s no black magic or psychic power at work here. When a mosquito bites a person, it injects a protein under the skin as it draws blood. This protein is what causes the skin irritation, but the heat from the metal spoon is effective in breaking it down, thus soothing the skin.
Remember to just warm the spoon... it doesn't need to be so hot as to burn you...
And... it really worked for me...!

ODSago Maui Jim ⋅ July 10, 2016

So helpful to understand that...thanks.

Maui Jim ODSago ⋅ July 10, 2016

You are most welcome...

Lady of the Bann July 10, 2016

I get huge welts from bites too. Must try that.i wonder if there is a time scale to it working.

Maui Jim Lady of the Bann ⋅ July 10, 2016

Well... as soon as you apply the heat... no more itch...!

aunty EM July 10, 2016

Interesting about the hot spoon. We are blessed to not have many mosquitoes right here where we live. They love Bob, but don't like me a lot. Guess who's the sweet on around here?

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ July 10, 2016

Yeah... the girls must really love him (see my next entry)...

Deleted user July 10, 2016

That is interesting about the hot spoon. Makes sense why it works.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 10, 2016

Yes... I was quite pleased with the result...!

middle age pearl July 10, 2016

I'm going to use the hot spoon next bite I get. Hadn't heard of that ever and appreciated the explanation you wrote in the comments. Great Info!!

So sorry about he loss of your friend and the pilot and son. Prayers for all.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ July 10, 2016

I wrote another entry about this...

^..^Kat July 11, 2016

How many seconds in the microwave do you think it'll take to heat the spoon sufficiently? smiles
I'm sorry about the people affected by the plane crash, that's so sad.

Maui Jim ^..^Kat ⋅ July 11, 2016

You can't put a spoon in the microwave... because it's metal... either run hot water over it... or do what I did... hold it over the toaster until it gets warm... about 8-10 seconds...

^..^Kat Maui Jim ⋅ July 11, 2016

I was joking. Sorry, apparently it didn't come across very well through the typed out words. :)

Maui Jim ^..^Kat ⋅ July 11, 2016

Oh... well... in that case: Aloha ha ha ha...!

dream seeker July 12, 2016

That is so sad about the plane.
I'm going to have to try the spoon trick!

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 14, 2016

Well... if you're going to try the spoon trick... you'll first need to go find a mosquito... (smiles)

dream seeker Maui Jim ⋅ July 16, 2016

Down here, they're not hard to find! lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.