Dreadful Parcel Delivery. in Summer, summer, summer time!

  • July 8, 2016, 5:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last Tuesday was a day in which teachers from a specific union went on strike. T was affected whereas L wasn’t and so L had to go to school.

My phone has reached a point where it may as well be a landline since it only lasts about an hour (at the most) from full charge to zero.

Why are these two things linked..? Well, the first gave me the opportunity to play with phones at John Lewis… Obviously I had done my research (the girls make fun of Rich and myself for our research!) and headed straight for the phone I had decided to buy. A Motorola Moto G. But I was disappointed by the sound (i already knew it was mono) which was very dull and by the camera which had no menu, it was just a bog standard camera. So, I put it down and started to look at the others. Fortunately I was able to navigate around them and checked out the reviews for each phone! T was happily checking out the top of the range phones while I was at the other end of the scale!

I decided to get the Alcatel Idol… Only to find that they were out of stock, end of line and display mobiles can’t be sold because they’re aren’t set up the same as the ones you buy. The salesperson found two stores that had one each left in stock and phoned them to be told that they wouldn’t post phones because of their worth… but I could drive to Southampton to pick one up…

Actually, the truth is, I couldn’t possibly drive to Southampton to pick one up so I thanked the salesperson and left.

Once home, I looked online for that specific phone. I found a few but they were the Alcatel Idol 3 and cost more… Until I found a refurbished one at the same price as the one I’d looked at being sold by Sainsbury Phone Shop. I ordered it and smiled with satisfaction. Next day delivery for free!

The Next Day

At work, eating my lunch. I received a text from DPD which let me know that they had attempted delivery but I wasn’t in… There was even a photo of my front door as proof! Back at home I went to the website whose options for redelivery didn’t fit into my working hours so I arranged to pick it up from their depot in the next town, on Thursday, after school - via the website. I made sure I had all my ID at work so I could pick it up and guess what? While at work I had a message to say that my parcel couldn’t be delivered because no one was home…!!

Whaaaaaa?!

So, after work I drove over there, explained the situation and the lady I spoke to said that it hadn’t registered at their end, but she would remove it from the driver when he came in, leave it on one side allowing me to pick it up the following day.

This morning I ensured I still had all my ID before going to work and, while at work received a text that said my parcel wasn’t able to be delivered because no one was there to receive it…

The staff room turned a little blue then!! What the Fuck?!!

I drove over there again and faced a very apologetic lady. Apparently, because the parcel wasn’t officially being picked up (via official channels) the driver took it because it was on his list, despite the rather prominent note saying that I would be picking it up that she had left on it....

She has promised to remove it once again, put it in the office and also that I should phone customer services to ensure it stays there!

The customer services lady was as sympathetic and helpful so, hopefully, tomorrow I will have my new phone, four days after the next day delivery was ordered…

At least I only have first world problems.


Deleted user July 08, 2016

Geez. Of course this kind of thing happens with something like a new phone, not something like bills...or tax notices.

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ July 09, 2016

Lol - had it been a bill or tax notice I'd end up paying more because of non payment 😆 x

Deleted user July 08, 2016

That sounds painfull

thesunnyabyss July 08, 2016

I hope they get it figured out for you and that you get it tomorrow!

happy weekend!

I need tea. July 09, 2016

Annoying!!

northern lights July 09, 2016

Sounds so annoying!! Hope you finally get your phone at some point!

ElvenAssassin July 09, 2016

Ieee, I had that problem trying to get my new computer a few years ago! Terrible travesty of errors; I feel you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.