More storms heading our way in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 7, 2016, 6:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It did stop raining Monday evening (4th of July) and J got his wish which was to go to his Aunt Ruby’s (my sister) and shoot off fireworks at their house.

That afternoon we went to buy some fireworks at the Workshop tent in the Walmart parking lot. I ended up buying a “package” of them that were for nighttime and I must say they were all great. I hate wasting money on this kind of thing, but I actually felt like we got our money’s worth in pretty fireworks display in the night sky. We had gone to their house around 6 and when we’d bought fireworks earlier in the day, I had also went inside walmart and got a big pack of hot dogs, some buns, and a couple of bags of chips . Sis had forgotten her phone at home so we couldn’t call each other but it was funny cause she also got a big pack of hotdogs and buns. She made bread pudding for me cause she knows I like it. And it was good too!! I never make bread pudding and this was her 2d time making it but it was delicious. They also made homemade chocolate ice cream and had fresh strawberries, with other toppings to go with it if you wanted. Dad rode up to their house with me so we all had a good 4th.

Tuesday I finally sandwiched the quilt top and got it quilted. Was thinking about doing the self binding style of blanket, but that didn’t happen. I ended up cutting strips of fabric to make the binding, cause goodness knows I didn’t have the color of binding I needed. I have the binding on one side now and I’ll either machine stitch the other side or hand stitch. I am pleased with how it turned out so hopefully the expectant mom will be too.

Took dad to his VA appointment yesterday. They said all the tests were fine. In other words there is no medical reason why he is having the episodes of seeing things that aren’t there. I’m not thinking he took too many of his pain pills, again. He is fine now well sorta He is 87.

Going to finish the quilt today.
Wash up dishes
Do laundry
sweep and tidy kitchen
wait for tomatoes to ripen

Severe storm warnings are in the forecast until 1pm today.

Not much else to say. Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 07, 2016

I'm hoping at least 1 of the 50% chance of thunder storms hits here today and that it rains for hours slow so it can sink in and not flood. Take care,

aunty EM July 07, 2016

Sounds like you and your family had a wonderful, traditional 4th.

ConnieK July 07, 2016

Sounds as if all is good in your world. :)

Deleted user July 07, 2016

A good 'ol American 4th. I still miss reading Ruby's diary. It must be 10 yrs since she stopped writing. As I recall her diary was called Just the Stepmom. :-)

crystal butterfly July 07, 2016

They cancelled our fireworks but I watched others around the community shoot them off from my window.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.