As time goes by in It's a Suhaila!

  • July 5, 2016, 4:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s amazing to think that Jasmine is five weeks old already.

The only problem is that I haven’t had a single good night’s sleep for five weeks neither. On the plus side my A-level exams are all over and done with now, on the minus side I have the worry of waiting for the results.

Jasmine seems to be doing fine, she’s steadily growing as far as I can tell. Salena is back home from uni for the summer as well, so I have my best friend/sister back too, so she can be auntie fora little while if I need a break. Going to the doctor with her this week though for check-up, make sure she’s developing correctly and also to make sure my body is doing well to (I’m no expert on medical stuff!) Would be nice if I am told I am ok with my bits getting back to normal… I am missing being able to make love with Daniel (been almost two months!), poor guy must be going crazy.

Jasmine’s father has been around a few times, more to see her than me, and that’s fine. I’m just not sure what vibes I am picking up from him, is he coming because he wants to or because he feels he has to. I’m worried I’m pressuring him into coming, such as when after he visits I say stuff like “Let me know when you want to come and see Jasmine next”, and I’m beginning to think I’m making him feel he has to come.

My flute seems to be working. Sometimes when she gets a bit restless and it’s not food or nappy related, I play a few tunes for her, making sure she can see me so she knows it’s mummy. And most of the times it seems to help calm her down a bit. It’s not a viable solution for crying at night though.

Oh, and a funny story. After one of my last A-level exams, I got asked a question by one of the boys at college. And it was so stupid that it made me and a few of my friends laugh for ages. He actually asked me - and no joke - “When your baby cries, does she cry in English or Hindi?”

Please, someone, answer the mystery of how someone like that managed to get into college to do four A-levels. It is probably the most stupid question I have ever had asked - although back in February just before I left college for maternity leave, I did have somene at college look at me with Jasmine-bump and ask “Are you pregnant, Suhaila?”

Do they have a special vault where they breed this level of stupidity?

I’m going to make sure Jasmine is settled, then have a little light supper then snuggle down into bed myself.


Frailty July 05, 2016

This planet is abundant in stupidity, Suhaila. LOL. You should have given him a straight face and said, "It depends on her mood. Sometimes English, other times Hindu." Imagine how many circuits might blow in that head of his if he thought about it.

Deleted user July 08, 2016

Tell them at 5 weeks she is already bilingual and will be assured of attending Oxford by age 5 ! Rest when you can !

Deleted user October 11, 2016

I love Deleted User's response :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.