Writing Prompt #1-About Me in Just me!

  • July 3, 2016, 10:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was born in Virginia (the great commonwealth!), the second oldest of 6 children. We grew up without a lot of money, but with an abundance of love. Our parents were (and are) very loving and created a wonderful life for us.

We grew up in what was then a small town, surrounded by lots of family. I had 2 sets of cousins that also numbered 6 each, and we roamed the countryside together all the time. We were outside most of the day every day.

One fond memory is of the annual Miss America Pageant. My 2 aunts would come to our house for the evening with at least several of their children. We were allowed to stay up late to watch the festivities and root for our favorites. One older cousin, whom I thought was the most glamorous person in the world, would style our hair while we watched. One aunt would actually award points to the contestants and keep a running scored to pick her favorite. For weeks afterward we would play Miss American with towels draped around our shoulders to mimic the capes favored back then.

40 years ago I married my sweet husband, and we were blessed with 2 wonderful children. Our daughter is married and is the mother of our 3 much-adored grandchildren. I used to take care of them every day, but now their dad workds from home most of the time, so I bring them home from school each day (I teach at their school) and spend time with them during the summer at least a couple of days a week. We take each child away for a special weekend as their birthday present. It’s usually either a beach trip or camping, their choice. As I write this I am recovering from a weekend camping trip with our younger grandson. Sweet boy!

Our son is also married, but they have not yet had children. I believe they probably will remain childless by choice, which makes me sad, but is IS their choice, not mine. They live far away from us now (we’re in NC, and they’re in RI) because of his job. I’m very close to my son, so it is rough.

My beloved Bill and I very happy together and have made a nice life for ourselves. We are not rich by any means, but we are blessed with enough. We have seen each other through trying times, and that has brought us even closer. Both of my parents suffered strokes, but recovered, and his parents both died under rather severe medical circumstances. Today, in fact, would have been his mother’s 93rd birthday.

16 years ago Bill suffered a sudden cardiac arrest and had an ICD implanted. He’s been extra dear to me since then, and I’m anxious now about upcoming surgery to replace the defibrillator. It’s fairly routine to the doctors now, but never to me.

8 1/2 years ago I was diagnosed with colon cancer, and that was an unexpected turn of events! I am doing well now, although I have chronic pain resulting from the surgery and my IBS. Bill has had to help me through this many a time.

Our biggest test came last year when our older grandson, then 12, was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. He went through chemo like a champ, although it did take his hair and make him quite sick at times. He’s now well and has grown back his hair. It’s quite curly now, which makes him look like a Greek god. His illness has nearly been the death of me, though. I grieve for the fear and uncertainty he has had to deal with, and it traumatizes me on a daily basis. I can take anything for myself, but I never want my grandchildren hurt by anything.

This is probably the longest entry I have ever written, so I will stop now and leave room to provide more revelations after the next writing prompt!


Deleted user July 03, 2016

Oh, I'm so excited that you are going to participate in the journal writing process. Thank you so much for letting me get to know you better Gail. My name is Kerry. I think it's very special that you take your grandchildren on a special trip to either the beach or camping. You mentioned you just got back from camping. Do you sleep on the ground in a sleeping bag? And as far as having had cancer, and your much loved grandson having had Hodgkin's Lymphoma. Tell me, is Hodgkin's a form of cancer. I'm just so happy that your grandson is doing well again. I bet he does look quite handsome with his curly hair. You and Bill have been married for a very long time. I think that's just wonderful and it's something you just don't see much of anymore. That's what I wanted for my ex husband and I. I wanted us to grow old together and enjoy being grandparents together. It's okay though. I believe there is meaning behind everything that happens in my life, be it good or bad. Looking forward to your next writing prompt. It looks to be another interesting one.

hotjavy Deleted user ⋅ July 03, 2016

Thanks, Kerry! Yes, Hodgkin's Lymphoma is a form of blood cancer. His was discovered when he had a lymph node on his neck become quite enlarged.

Yes, we did sleep on the ground in sleeping bags! We had a grand time!

Deleted user hotjavy ⋅ July 03, 2016

I'm so sorry that you and your grandson have had cancer. Cancer has affected my life too via my sister Kim. I hope someday a cure is found for cancer.

Deleted user July 03, 2016

Oh yes, before I forget, ...... Here She Comes, Miss America. LOL! I loved what you shared about Miss America. What a lovely memory.

terriberri July 04, 2016

i love this entry...lots about you that i didn't know. thank you for sharing.

where do you find the journal prompts?

hotjavy terriberri ⋅ July 04, 2016

My friend WildRose is posting one each day! Today's is a list of things to be grateful for.

crystal butterfly July 05, 2016

Very interesting.

hotjavy crystal butterfly ⋅ July 05, 2016

Thanks! Glad you're joining us on this journey!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.