The Lamp in Dance like no one is watching!

  • July 3, 2016, 5:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good afternoon everyone, I hope you all are doing well.
Here’s the promised entry about ‘The Lamp’…please know I ‘do’ know material things are not as important as the life of a human. But this makes me so sad.
I had no idea this meant so much to my brother.

About 18 years ago after losing my youngest brother, my mother gave my other brother a lamp that had been in the family for many, many years. My mother bought this lamp about 40-42 years ago.

I was talking with him a few nights ago, he was VERY upset because someone went in the house and removed EVERYTHING from the house, and was in the front yard. Even though things were damaged by the flood, he said there were a few things that could have been repaired, but just a very few things.

He said the lamp has survived everything: moving to different locations, kids, this flood…he said it had knocked over and was on the floor with mud on it, but could have been washed off etc…actually, it was in the bedroom so that kinds could ‘not’ break it etc…

I asked it could be repaired in any way. He said there were so much stuff in the yard, that he has no clue where it was.
He’s heartbroken because momma gave it to him.

Why on earth would ‘anyone’ go in and clean out a house and not speak with the homeowner first[there was still several years to be paid]I will say, the door was open due to letting the house ‘air’ out. I’m guessing these clean-up crews were going door to door, and if they saw an open door, they just cleaned out. But still, it’s a sad situation.
SIL was gonna look for some things were kids made in grade school, once the house had time to ‘air’ out. That’s why the door was open. You never really expect someone to just go in and do this.

I wish I could post pics here…I’ve tried before and just didn’t work. I could show you the house etc…

Have a nice and safe evening friends,♥


Leanne 🌈 July 03, 2016

I am so sorry I understand in the way that my grandmother when she passed away she left me a lamp. The shade needs to be replaced that alone had me bummed out. I always loved that lamp as much as she did & to have it here still with me after so many years yep I understand.

crystal butterfly July 03, 2016

I am so sorry this has happened and I hope that the lamp is found and many other things that are full of memories.

Deleted user July 03, 2016

I'm confused. Your brother and sister-in-law left the front door open to their home and someone came in and moved everything out into the front yard, including the lamp? Who was it that did this? Did your brother and sister-in-law give them permission to go into their home? Just because the front door is open doesn't mean anyone can walk in, right? Will you please explain? I'm so sorry about the lamp. Maybe everyone could go on the hunt for it if it's in the front yard. Like you said, it could be cleaned up and a new lamp shade purchased. Even if it would no longer work, it would still be pretty and it is really a family heirloom. Robin, are your brother and sister-in-law still staying with you? Has FEMA and the Red Cross come in to help?

middle age pearl July 04, 2016

The lamp will reappear.

Flyte July 05, 2016

Unfortunately, the clean up people do enter houses and clean them out. I had many, many people in my house that I didn't recognize at all. We were in the house, though, so I didn't say anything. They really think they are helping. And as far as airing the house out, the longer stuff stays in the house the harder the mold is to get rid of. Everyone cleaned out their houses on the same day in my neighborhood and the community knew when it was so many people came to help. Don't think too badly about the people that did the cleaning out. They really thought they were helping and doing the right thing. Probably those people in my house had no idea I was the home owner and went right on tossing things. Cap stayed in front of his door and wouldn't let anyone in his room. The next day he allowed a friend of his to come help him clean it out. I know it is horrible and I know that your brother wanted to save some things, and I am sorry that he lost something so valuable to him, but please understand the people were not doing it to be mean. They truly thought they were helping.

Beret July 07, 2016

So sorry. That is sad. Yes, it' just a "thing" but it was a thing with special meaning. Hope he finds it.

Deleted user July 08, 2016

Sometimes "helpful" people are not very helpful. Hope it's found. Does anyone have a picture of it ?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.