2016 Books Update - June in Book Book

  • July 1, 2016, 11:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

January:
You - Caroline Kepnes
Her - Harriet Lane
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart
Luckiest Girl Alive - Jessica Knoll
A Dark and Twisted Tide - Sharon Bolton
The Memory Box - Eva Lesko Natiello
Night Film - Marisha Pessl
In The Woods - Tan French

February:
The Likeness - Tana French
The Longest Night - Andria Williams
All The Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Me Before You - Jojo Moyes
Hidden Bodies - Caroline Kepnes

March:
After You - Jojo Moyes
The Widow - Fiona Barton
Gone Tomorrow - Lee Child
61 Hours - Lee Child
Worth Dying For - Lee Child

April:
Alone - Lisa Gardner
Hide - Lisa Gardner
The Neighbor - Lisa Gardner
Live To Tell - Lisa Gardner
Love You More - Lisa Gardner
Catch Me - Lisa Gardner
Fear Nothing - Lisa Gardner
The Nest - Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

May:
Touch & Go - Lisa Gardner
Crash & Burn - Lisa Gardner
The Perfect Husband - Lisa Gardner
The Third Victim - Lisa Gardner
The Next Accident - Lisa Gardner

June:
The Killing Hour – Lisa Gardner
Gone – Lisa Gardner
Say Goodbye – Lisa Gardner

Finally finished all the Lisa Gardner books that I own. There is one more that I haven’t read but it is still in hardback so I’m going to wait until it comes out in Trade Paperback and is MUCH cheaper and will match all of the other books of hers that I own.

They were all decent. I didn’t like her first series (which is the one that I just finished) as much as her next two. Maybe it was a mistake to read it out of order. Oh well. I would recommend any of her books but there are trigger warnings on all of them. They can get pretty dark. For instance, the last book I read featured child rape and a serial killer who was into spiders. Kind of creepy at bed time.

The Passenger – Lisa Lutz (recommended by Jeanine)

I enjoyed this book a lot. It was compelling. In the end the mystery was a little meh and the end had a little twist that wasn’t at all surprising. But I would recommend for the readability of it.

I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You – Courtney Maum (recommended by Caty Shark)

This book was so good. It dealt with marriage and infidelity. It was the tiniest bit trite. I loved the entire book: the writing, the premise, the development but then the ending was COMPLETELY TACKED ON. It was so out of character with the rest of the book. I still really enjoyed the book and would HIGHLY recommend.

2016 total: 36 books


amateursbox July 01, 2016

Here is a book that is a good vagina nickname: "Luckiest Girl Alive." Maybe "All the Light We Cannot See."
Penis nickname, I recommend "The Passenger" and maybe "The Next Accident.

"The Memory Box" is also a good nickname for a vagina, I guess.

plushcreep July 01, 2016

I was going to recommend a book or two but now all I can think of are good vagina nicknames...

MaggieTheCat plushcreep ⋅ July 01, 2016

Read the notes in this entry: https://www.prosebox.net/entry/151496/

Jeanine July 02, 2016

I felt the same way about the Passenger. It was great up until the end where it fell a little flat.

Deleted user July 07, 2016

I keep my list on Goodreads but I have been slacking off reading lately :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.