Life. It's what happens when you're busy making plans. in 2016

  • June 30, 2016, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Seriously though, I CANNOT believe July is happening tomorrow.

Aurion is going to be 9 months on Saturday and it’s going so fast. So fast.
She’s blossoming into a delightful little creature; her personality is becoming quite distinctive. She’s collecting more milestones (scooting, pushing herself into a sit position, pulling herself up to stand and eating FRENCH FRIES) and melting my heart along the way. She’s truly a happy little girl, but she’s also on the needy side, and I keep telling myself that this time doesn’t last long, and I try to be present in these moments because as I look back at her short little life, it’s already becoming hard to remember all the moments. So I snuggle her and squeeze her and just let myself be as much as I can, with her. And of course her adorable, needy brother. ;)

We went through a string of sicknesses - Joaquin got sick a few days before Memorial weekend and it started getting worse; he had a fever and was vomitting but then he started complaining about neck pain and headaches, and I was worried it was meningitis (I had a roommate in college whose brother DIED from meningitis) so I was overly cautious and sent him and Aaron to the emergency room on that Friday night. Turns out, it was just a hellish combination of flu + croup, but it was still miserable and lasted almost a whole week (normally Joaquin recovers from illness within a day or two, so this was weird).

So that was our holiday weekend. As a result, as soon as everyone was feeling better, I immediately booked us at a fancy hotel in Laguna Niguel for the 4th of July weekend, and I’m eagerly anticipating a weekend of awesome to make up for our lost holiday weekend back in May.

About a week after Joaquin recovered, Aurion came down with a terrible case of CONJUNCTIVITIS aka .... pink eye. It was so sad. The eye itself was just not pretty, but it came with a miserable sinus situation and she was just so sad for again, almost a whole week. So she recovered. But within a week of that, I came down with a case of the pink eye. And it was BAD. I looked like a satan spawn. It nicely coincided with my mom and nieces coming into town (to watch the kids while Aaron and I were away for business), so I was terrified that I would pass it on to one of them, or even Joaquin or Aurion (can you get pink eye twice??) Oh, and Aaron also got it. So I looked like a hot mess for a week’s worth of research in the field where I had to go into people’s homes to interview them. Aaron’s eye was reddish, but we were in houses with cats and he’s allergic, so he had a good excuse. But I was looking like satan spawn. I came up with a story that I scratched my cornea (because apparently it looks similar) so as not to freak anyone out, and I was exceedingly careful not to touch my eye or do anything that would spread the disease. I also got chapped hands from using so much anti-bac hand sanitizer. Ugh. So much ugh.

Surprisingly, though, the research went great even though everyone felt super uncomfortable looking at my demon face. And no one caught the pink eye. Whew.

Anyway, we were back in the field the following week and I was back to normal and it was great.

But then my sister and her husband came to town last Saturday and they brought the remnants of a cold with them. So of course Aurion and I caught that. And then of course I had to travel again this week. So I had a fun sinus / stuffy nose situation for the past few days. Nothing too crazy, but just more fun to add to my travel schedule. Aurion is handling it well, but we both have stuffy / runny noses and it’s just not a good look.

SO. tomorrow, I have a massage scheduled and then we leave for Laguna Saturday morning. It’s time for some RnR, for realz. And I’m going to plan on NOT getting sick for the rest of the summer. Because COME ON.

Oh, but I do have travel coming up on July 18th - so if something’s going to get me, I’m pretty sure it will happen on, say, July 17th. Because. Life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.