Cortisol in 2016

  • June 28, 2016, 7:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my ovaries drilled a week ago and was signed off work for 2 weeks. It’s now 1am and I’m lay in bed hyperventilating and crying about work stress.

We have this huge report to go to our project funded which was sent off in January. I’m the first project manager in our department to ever send it off on time. It caused me to become so anxious and stressed I genuinely thought I was losing my mind. I also developed alopecia which is only just starting to stop progressing. And the day I went on annual leave, the week before my operation on my ovaries, the report came back with reviewers comments (standard) with a month to respond and have it sent off again. With the annual leave and the sick it means I’m off for 3 of those weeks but hey, my boss is there, it’s his project, by the time I get back it should just be tying up loose ends right?

Except I started looking at it yesterday and not much has been done. So I worked like crazy for 2 days on it even though i feel like shit and I’m supposed to be resting and recovering. He hasn’t even replied to the email I’ve sent him and I just checked the calendar and apparently he won’t even be there all next week. So, I guess he’s just expecting me to do a months worth of work in a week when I’ve been off sick for 2 weeks?

On top of this there’s also another deadline the same day, also untouched.

So, yeah, I’m freaking out. And I don’t want to be freaking out because stress is just about the worst thing for me right now but what the fuck am I supposed to do? Obviously he thinks this is my job, so I have to do it and make myself sick again and probably ruin any chance of this operation actually working because I’ve ravaged my body with stress hormones that will just stop my ovulating anyway and make me bald. YAY.

I wish I could just not care. Why can’t I just not care?


history of love June 29, 2016

No job should make you feel this way - it's effed up.

Do you have to do the correction in a month? Like, do they know you were on annual leave and off sick? And can none of your team do some of it, or is it just you and your (seemingly useless) boss?

Bomb Shell July 01, 2016

They should know that you're off sick and that means you can't do any work. They should make provisions for your absence, as any good manager would.

Emmy Lou July 05, 2016

Who says the deadline is when it is? Is it really that time constrictive? Can you have more time?
You can only do what you can do in the time you have xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.