Group home in Snippets

  • Feb. 17, 2014, 11:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My social worker(Mrs.Thermostat) showed up one day without any notice (to me at least) and picked me up from the institution. I was in the secure unit and my social worker arrived and signed me out. I had no idea where I was going or that I was going anywhere. She had a bag of my girls clothes in her car and I was wearing a skirt and blouse. She took me to a group home in the country and dropped me off. She talked with the staff there and said she would be back. I met with the house mother and she talked with me and explained that this was my new home and laid down some rules and expectations. I was still wearing girls clothes and it seemed that wasn't going to change .I was at the group home for about 18 months.


BentnotBroken April 20, 2014

I have read all of your entries in this book. I also read them aloud to my wife,who is transgendered. You are a remarkable person. You should write a book. You also did a few things for me. The first is I now understand some of the hell my wife has endured all of her life. She's 66. You made me laugh and cry. You are such a mensch! I can't wait to continue reading your entries. :-)

shneaker BentnotBroken ⋅ April 22, 2014

Glad I could help

shneaker BentnotBroken ⋅ April 22, 2014

I thought I was writing a book. What's a mensch

BentnotBroken April 22, 2014

A mensch is Yiddish for a good person,a person with a good soul.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.