Looking for a book... in Summer, summer, summer time!

  • June 27, 2016, 10:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was at school, in 1982, my teacher read a book to us. It was all about 2 children and the scrapes they got into. Throughout the book we didn’t even question the gender of the two main characters, just asummed they were both boys. At the very end of the book, one of them climbed onto the school roof for a dare - to ring the bell possibly - at which point the headmistress called “Get down (insert character’s name), you naughty girl!”

I remember that it caused quite a lot of active discussion and would love to know if anyone knows what the book is because I’d like to read it with my kids. Thank you!!


Deleted user June 27, 2016

Not one I recognize :-(

thesunnyabyss June 28, 2016

I am glad you found it!

Deleted user June 28, 2016

Sounds fun! How do they write a whole book without using pronouns that indicate gender?

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ June 28, 2016

I don't remember, but that was part of the discussion we had as 11 year olds. X

northern lights June 29, 2016

Have your kids ever read Skellig? I remember reading it when I was 12 and I loved it!

colojojo July 01, 2016

Never heard of it

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.