Nothing on Brexit in here. in Hello.

Revised: 06/26/2016 6:19 p.m.

  • June 26, 2016, 6:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not going to write about my feelings on it, only to say I’m disappointed. I’ll leave it there.
For the first time in months I’m actually typing my entry on a proper keyboard! So it won’t take me very long at all. My Kindle officially died a few weeks ago, so I’ve been playing on the internet mostly on my phone. John bought a cheap reconditioned PC to play Skyrim on, so I can now go on the internet as well.
We’ve booked our holiday in Scotland, yippee! As usual we are going to Arran, but instead of camping, we’ve booked into a lodge. It’s small and basic, but I’ve read really good reviews on it and it didn’t cost us a fortune either, maybe only a wee bit more than camping, by the time we’ve factored in buying new gear. First week in August, I’m really looking forward to it!
Our holiday now is very much dependent on whether or not I pass my driving test. I have the last week in July and the first week in August off work and my driving test is before that time. If I fail, we’re going to be relying on public transport, like we always do, but we won’t have half as much stuff to carry this time, we only need to take our own towels (and clothes, obviously!) The lodges are only ten minutes from the nearest town, and that has cafes and a supermarket, plus it’s served very well by buses. If I pass, the provisional plan is to take the tent in the car and work our way up the west coast, stopping off at various campsites on the way. I don’t fancy the idea of driving all the way to Arran so soon after passing my test. We may also incorporate a wee visit to John’s step sister, who lives on an island north of Arran, but we’ll see. I love the idea of just packing and seeing where the wind takes us. I am not one of those people who has a strict itinerary. We usually make a list of activities we’d like to do while we’re on holiday, rainy day and sunny day stuff, but they don’t always work out. All that’s set in stone is when we arrive and when we leave!
I’m definitely ready for my driving test now. Remember when I wrote that entry a few weeks ago about how I’d failed my mock test and I really felt like throwing in the towel? Yep, that’s way behind me now. My last two lessons have basically been just refresher courses, taking me on the test route, doing my manoeuvers, that kind of thing. Although today he decided to throw in a wee bit of “motorway training” by making me pull into a layby on a road with a 60mph limit and spotting gaps in the traffic I could potentially pull out into. It was the first time I’d done that and I did well on it, and then executed it perfectly. (In the UK, you’re not allowed to drive on the motorway until you pass your test. I’m not sure what it’s like in other countries! You can take further tuition if you like, but my dad has offered to take me out to practise once I pass.)

Those of you who are my friends on FB will have no doubt seen my video of Bel singing in the pub. John’s sister, Katie, helps organise a mini music festival in town, where loads of venues open their doors to music, workshops, poetry etc. She was doing a wee set in the pub over the road (even though she’s really droopy after having her final dose of chemo on Tuesday.) and Bel had gone to watch. She asked Bel if she wanted to sing something and Bel said she did, so she ran home to get me (sitting here in my scruffs, lol!) and she did so well! She was the last act of the evening and she did one song (called Jetpacks And Rollerblades) and she got an AMAZING reception from her audience who shouted MORE! (And I didn’t even initiate it, because I thought she wouldn’t!) so she did an acoustic version of Brittney Spears’ Toxic. Oh my God, it was bloody amazing! They’d put shakers and tambourines on all the tables for people to shake, which they were, and one of the other singers sat next to her and started singing harmonies halfway through…I nearly shed a tear! She got such a buzz off it, that she’s decided to do two open mic evenings that are coming up! Also, after the pub gig, the pub had passed around a sheet asking for comments, and somebody had written that the last act, the 13 year old girl, was amazing and needs to be signed up immediately!
:D
See it here:


Last updated June 26, 2016


Crystal Apple June 27, 2016

Bel is amazing!!!

Bumbly June 27, 2016

Go Bel :)

Good luck for your test! Motorways are easier than normal roads!

I wish I could holiday with no plan but it freaks mark out not having a plan of where to stay or what to do lol

Bomb Shell June 27, 2016

Your holiday plan sounds like a good idea, I was going to say it's a long way to drive straight after passing your test so stopping off will help to break it up and let you see new places along the way.

Love Bel's performance proud auntie

wintergrey June 28, 2016

Good luck with the test, you'll breeze through! I learned to drive in Germany and as part of the lessons before the test, we have to drive a certain number of hours on motorways (also a certain number of hours on country roads, at night, etc). I think they should do that here, too, rather than keeping the motorways for people to tackle on their own later. Take care,

Deleted user June 28, 2016

Bels performance was fantastic xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.