Another 4th of July party...! in Talk Story

  • June 25, 2016, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

I am hosting another 4th of July party/neighborhood pot-luck next week… on Saturday July 2nd to be exact…
Why that day… well it is the anniversary of my daughter’s death… and I find that if I keep busy and active… I tend not to dwell on it…
And…
Having between 50 and 80 people at my house… well… you get the idea…
It is a true pot-luck… and in the past… the people that have attended… bring some very creative dishes to share… no store bought potato salad at this gathering…
Some guests come from as far as 30 miles away… but most live here in Brookings…
In the morning… neighbors will help me set up tables and chairs… both in my garage… in my driveway… and out into the cul-de-sac…
And lest you think having people hang out in my garage is kind of wierd… well let me share with you that there is quite a bit of art work hanging on the garage walls…
I have over 100 collect-able tin signs… posters… hanging fish… geckos climbing the walls, etc…
The floor is carpeted… and in case it gets really hot (or rains)… the garage serves another function as a shelter…
For the most part… food is put out on decorated tables in the garage… and guests sit outside enjoying what I hope is a warm (not hot) afternoon…
It gives friends of mine… and neighbors… an opportunity to see old friends… and to meet new ones…
Also… it forces me to clean my house… lest people think that I am a slob…
Smiles/Aloha oe…


Spilledperfume June 25, 2016

Your July 4th party always sounds like a fun time. If I lived nearby I would have to sneak in with my store bought potato salad and macaroni salad.

Maui Jim Spilledperfume ⋅ June 25, 2016

Really... I'd wager that you are a really good cook... and would show up with something onolicious...! (smiles)

Spilledperfume Maui Jim ⋅ June 26, 2016

I have to be honest, you would lose the bet because I never cook. It would have to be store bought.

Maui Jim Spilledperfume ⋅ June 26, 2016

Hmmmmmmmmmmm....!

middle age pearl June 25, 2016

What a fantastic way to make what could be such a sad occasion into a celebration of joy and friendship!! Wonderful.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ June 25, 2016

Thank you...

Deleted user June 25, 2016

I make a mean potato salad from scratch. Can't afford the FedEx charge to send it for the party. :-)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2016

Well... in that case... perhaps you could deliver it in person...
Smiles.............

ConnieK June 25, 2016

Lost my middle child a year & a half ago. One death date and two birthdays have passed. It's not getting easier. My condolences for your loss. I'm slowly finding healing where I can. Blessings to you.

Deleted user June 25, 2016

Sounds wonderful and a good day to celebrate Life. I hope when I go my kids do something similar ! Do you still raise orchids ?

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2016

I gave all of my orchids away to friends and neighbors... wanted to do something different...
Now I raise succulents... with over 85 different varieties... and of course... I give cuttings away to friends and neighbors (smiles)...
This is a nice time of year for them... as almost all of them are in bloom...
Aloha oe..............

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 25, 2016

I try to do succulents but I am not good with them . Not sure what I am doing wrong :-(

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 26, 2016

Succulents like to be kept dry... over-watering will kill them... especially during the winter... they also like to be kept warm... with lots of sunlight...
Oh yeah... they like it when you talk to them... (smiles)

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 26, 2016

The sun burned mine so now I have them in the partial shade . They look scraggly but I am doctoring them up .

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 26, 2016

Do you apply fertilizer to them...? They need it at least once a year...
The sun shouldn't burn them... as mine are in direct sunlight all day during the summer months... not sure why your's look "scraggly"...
Hmmmmmmmmmm...

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 27, 2016

The sun just sunburned them terribly. I will have to try fertilizer !

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 28, 2016

If they had been in the shade (and were accustomed to it) then moved into the sun... that would probably be the cause of it...

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 28, 2016

Probably that is what I did ( hits head in frustration) . I might try to replace a few of them . Have to not accumulate too many more plants though :-)

aunty EM June 26, 2016

With all those folks there, you'd never notice if I snuck in...sans potato salad.....ff

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 26, 2016

Yes... but if I did... and if I shouted out: "Hey... where's your potato salad...?"
Well you might become red in the face...! (smiles)

aunty EM Maui Jim ⋅ June 26, 2016

LOL

dream seeker June 26, 2016

That sounds like a wonderful celebration and a perfect way to spend that day, surrounded by friendship and laughter. We don't have many garages down here, unless they're full of junk, but carports are perfect for get togethers and they happen often. It sounds like the only thing missing from the party is a pot of boiling crawfish. :)

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ June 26, 2016

Auwe... crawfish does sound good... (as in great)...!

TruNorth June 27, 2016

I like your carpeted garage with decorations on the wall. Sounds like a great effort and a good time for all your guests.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 27, 2016

Absolutely...
It always makes me smile... when I have the garage door open... and neighbors bring their friends over to see my "stuff"...!

crystal butterfly June 28, 2016

Garages are the bigger dining room. When we had hubbies family here we set up 3 or 4 tables in the garage. That is where they all hung out.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 28, 2016

Exactly... and because my garage is "decorated"... it's kind of a fun place to sit around and talk-story...! (smiles)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.