That Which Does Not Kill You in Walking In The Spirit

Revised: 06/21/2016 11:59 a.m.

  • June 21, 2016, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I’ve learned more about myself the past nine months than I ever imagined I didn’t know. Never in my short history have I been so aware of positions in life that I am not cut from the proper cloth to wear. These highly valuable lessons come at a high cost, one I’ll cheerfully pay for they did bear good, good fruit.

My truck driving career, by necessity, ended. Financially I was paying the company bills, not my own. Though it was possible I could have made a much higher paycheck, the price attached to do so would have compromised much of who I am as a single, Christian, woman. The experience of driving over the road was a dream come true, and I miss it tremendously, but remaining true to One way of life ultimately matters most.

The entire process of selling my home proved I have zero future in the real estate business. While I depended on the park sales personnel they showed their true interest was to thwart advertising or sales on my behalf. That resulted in me placing my house on the market privately, which in a Michigan winter is little more than wasted effort. Ultimately I listed on Craig’s List and OfferUp, was overrun with potential buyers and, within sixty days closed the sale. The closing I thought would be the death of me, mentally. It was appearing I’d been the victim of an online scam, evidenced by the amount of time receiving the wire transfer of the sales money took.

The stress of those events left me willingly letting go of all hope to be paid for my house and accepting the loss for what it was, a lesson learned. I was at my wits end, either I let it go or I was on the short road to flipping out. Fortunately, in time, the money for the sale did come through and I now have a tidbit in the bank for a rainy day.

In March I sold everything I owned, within one week moved my son from his “college years” apartment into his first grown adult home, and myself across the country to Jacksonville, Florida. I spent three days traveling by Amtrak to unwind from the chaos of decision making, moving and sleep deprivation, renewing myself by talking with folks I met along the rails and photographing this great land.

Work has been part time and steady since I arrived in March. While living in Jacksonville I adjusted my plans for church attendance according to my location and ability find workable times. Because of this I was stretched to examine my purpose and how to walk that path. I worked hard to be in sync with God’s will, to hear His direction for me, to seek knowledge and wisdom. Though it’s been only three months I feel time has stood still while I prepare for further direction.

June saw me moving from Jacksonville further south, bringing me closer to where I ultimately want to live. I found a lovely home in a quiet country setting, close to the ocean beaches and women I have “church girl relationships” with. A tiny fundamental church captured my need for being in God’s word, giving me large, frequent doses of Christian manna and love. So far I only find myself becoming more involved with this small church, uncertain if my days in this area’s mega church have ceased. For now I am deeply content to be KJV only and nose in the Book, amen!

Work is keeping me part time busy, leaving plenty of time for mission life and becoming familiar with my surroundings. I’ve enjoyed several trips down south to visit friends, spending a couple weekends on my beloved river, and finally breathe a sigh of relief to be home, where I belong, and stronger for the wear.


Last updated June 21, 2016


cardslinger June 21, 2016

It sounds like you are content so all the trouble was worth it, I would say.

Spirit Song June 21, 2016

I have missed you so much and wasn't sure I would actually hear from you again. So happy to read an update and know that you are doing so well. I have kept you faithfully in my prayers, and hope to read more updates soon.

Serin June 22, 2016

You sound content. :)

crystal butterfly June 22, 2016

It is good to see an update.

Oswego July 14, 2016

Hope things will smooth out. You are on the right Path and life is rich and fulfilling along the way.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.