The rest of the (my) story: in Talk Story

  • June 18, 2016, 1:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

So… what happened to my friends you asked…

Well… after driving 60 miles round trip… I called them when I got home…
When they answered the phone I asked them if the dog was okay…
Well yes… why do you ask…?
Is John okay…?
Yes…
And are you okay…?
Yes… Jim what’s going on…?
Well inasmuch as everyone is okay… I was wondering why you didn’t meet me for lunch…
Lots of silence.........................
She quickly looked at her calendar then said: Oh Jim… I’m so sorry… we forgot…!

Friends… go figure…! (smiles)

A bit about the restaurant:

It sits on the beach close to the ocean… sort of has a surfing theme… and in fact they rent surfboards… boogie boards… and other stuff for play at the beach…

The view is wonderful… and they have a glass enclosed patio outside… and as I wrote before the food was quite good…

As for my friends…

Well… no problem…

Smiles/Aloha oe..............


🌻StillJustMe🌸 June 18, 2016

How could anybody ever forget a lunch date with maui Jim???

Maui Jim 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ June 18, 2016

Well... I was wondering that as well... seems that my friends are very busy... and they just plain forgot... (smiles)

Deleted user June 18, 2016

I'm glad your friends were okay. And your lunch sounds so lovely! :)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 18, 2016

Thank you... they are... and it was... (smiles)

middle age pearl June 18, 2016

Oh my. I did the same thing to a young friend a couple of months ago. I was so embarrassed. I hadn't written it on my calendar. Duh.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ June 18, 2016

Oh... well thanks for sharing this with me... perhaps my friends are embarrassed too...! (Yes... I know they are)...

TruNorth June 18, 2016

All's well that ends well.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 18, 2016

Absolutely...! (smiles)

aunty EM June 18, 2016

Glad everybody's okay....

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 18, 2016

Absolutely...!

cariad June 18, 2016

Awww, honest mistake I guess! Glad that were able to still have a lovely lunch anyway! We have stayed in Crescent City 3 times now (we camp at the KOA on the outskirts of town) and I just love that area of Southern Oregon/Northern Cali.

Maui Jim cariad ⋅ June 18, 2016

They are really good friends... and yes... it was an honest mistake... (smiles)

crystal butterfly June 19, 2016

I don't think I have ever missed a dinner date with friends, but I have forgotten some meetings that I knew I was supposed to be at 2 hours earlier!

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 19, 2016

This seems to be the case for a lot of people (but not for me so far)...
Smiles................

^..^Kat June 20, 2016

I'm glad your friends and their dog are all ok. And I'm happy you still made the most out of your day.

Maui Jim ^..^Kat ⋅ June 20, 2016

Thank you...

dream seeker June 20, 2016

I'm glad it wasn't something serious, and I bet they try and make it up to you. The restaurant sounds gorgeous, or rather the view and location do. :)

Deleted user June 23, 2016

Hi ! I just found you here. Do you remember me from OD ?

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 24, 2016

Absolutely... fun finding (old) friends again...! (smiles)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.