eating sugar in Summer, summer, summer time!

  • June 17, 2016, 5:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A very interesting thing happened the other day - something that I haven’t tried because if the fear of cravings taking over.

But hey, let’s go back to yesterday. A year 3 teacher had a meeting with the senco about one of his pupils so I took his class for an hour. During this hour, some of his class had gone to do cooking - each week a different class go, a few kids a day, to do cooking. When the bakers came back one of them said “Mrs Ermentrude, do you want to try some of this?” I asked what it was and was told “Viking bread.” It sounded very innocuous so I said that I would love to try a little and thanked the child.

She gave me a little bit and the flavours separated in my mouth, I could taste the bread but separately was this intense sugar flavour. A sort of thin, tinny flavour, hovering blandly above my tongue. I asked the cooking teacher if it had sugar “yes,” she smiled, “all bread does.” I told her that I knew it did, but this was incredibly sweet. No one else thought it was.

For the next hour and a half I had the feeling of a dull coating and a sour taste on my tongue, all I wanted to do was drink water, as much water as possible. And once I was home it took a fair amount of cheese to get rid of it.

Have I craved sugar since? No! Because, quite frankly, sugar tastes bloody revolting!

Two and a half years sugar free really have educated my palate!


thesunnyabyss June 17, 2016

did you use any program to stop the sugar habit? and do you use honey in tea or anything? I really need to do this,

hugs!!!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ June 18, 2016

I just went cold turkey on the sugar and it took two weeks for the cravings to go, but yes I do use honey and even maple syrup on rare occasions (it's ridiculously expensive over here).

colojojo June 19, 2016

It's very impressive

northern lights June 19, 2016

Deleted user June 19, 2016

I wish I could give sugar up but it seems like deprivation to me :-) which I know is ridiculous but it's in my head...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.