Holiday in Spain in Diary

  • June 16, 2016, 9:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here I am again, with my monthly update. I would really love to be able to write more often but I’m just so busy all the time I don’t have time! This is a good thing really, it means I’m making the most of life and squeezing everything I can out of it.

Spain
So as I wrote in my last entry while I was still there, I had a nice relaxing week with my mam and dad at their apartment in Spain. It’s in the middle of nowhere with not much to do, which was lovely for a week, but they were there for six weeks, I think it would drive me mad.

I’ll just post a few photos as there isn’t really a lot to write here.

This is really sad. It says “Our dream in the sun has become an expensive nightmare.” The complex where mam and dad’s apartment is, was never finished. While it was halfway towards being built, Spain hit a massive recession and building just stopped. Some apartments and villas were finished and sold, but some were left half done; perhaps just the foundations were built, some with the building shell, some were completely finished and never sold. It was meant to be like a small town with shops, bars, a golf club etc. But now it’s like a ghost town with only a handful of people living there, no shops, no bars, the golf club abandoned and the golf course overgrown. This particular building was supposed to be a bar, the guy had spent €80,000 buying the building and another €20,000 turning it into a bar. By Spanish law, they have to put a sign in the window giving anyone the opportunity to object. If one person objects, it can’t go ahead, which is pretty ridiculous. So, one person objected and the whole thing just stopped, and he lost all his money. The one person didn’t even live there, they were just there on holiday. What a selfish, pointless thing to do. So yeah, that explains the writing and the whole place in general…

Some of the building suffered badly from shifting foundations, causing these cracks; they’re doing to have to be demolished. It’s a real shame as they’re brand new and no one’s ever lived in them.

Here are a few photos of Murcia city.

Cathedral

This woman appears to be standing on a load of people.

There was a stage being set up for some sort of festival, celebrating different religious, so that’s why my photo is spoiled by scaffolding!

Big fish.

A photo of some fruit. I only took this because the grapes are twice as big as any I’ve ever seen before, and the cherry tomatoes were tiny. I’ve never seen grapes bigger than tomatoes before.

Mam and Dad walking on the beach at Mar Menor; we had to drive about half an hour to get to the beach.

The sea at Mar Menor is really warm, almost like a bath. It’s really salty so you can float in it and, on the bottom, is this thick, black mud, almost like oil. Everyone covers themselves in it, it’s meant to be really good for your skin. So here are me and dad in our oily mudsuits! Only problem was, it stinks like rotten eggs…

Los Molinos

Wild flamingoes.

Blue the dog playing with a piece of pipe he found. He insisted on playing with this every day.

Dad kept shifting closer and closer to mam because the sun kept getting in his eyes. I said anyone would think he liked her or something! :-D

The swimming pool outside the apartment. At least with it being quiet, we get the pool to ourselves!

This is Birmingham from the air. I’m pretty sure you can see my office on here as I work right next to the airport!

A wild gecko! I’ve never seen a wild one before :o)

So it was nice to get away for a while. I’ve been back 2.5 weeks and it feels like a lot longer.

The week after I got back, me and Jay went to Download Festival, but I’ll write about that in another entry.


Babe In Toyland June 17, 2016

I haven't seen mam in a dress for years! That one is lovely, she looks really pretty. I'll have to encourage her to wear them more often.

Lucretia July 01, 2016

I was only wondering where Murcia was the other day! Glad you had fun, it looks like a lovely trip.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.