Whiney one in One day at a time

  • June 14, 2016, 6:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh dear, I am a fading flower today. Went out for eyebrow threading and dinner with Dani last night. By the time we got to dinner it was about 8.00pm, and I was v hungry. I had ribs, fries and coleslaw followed by an icecream sandwich thingy (D was having one, and it felt rude not to accompany her). It was by far the biggest meal I have had in ages. Home and into bed at 10.00pm, lights out at 11.00pm. 12.30am ding wide awake. I fought it for a while but finished up getting out of bed, cleaning the kitchen, folding laundry, reading, internet surfing…..Gah. Soon it was 4.00am. I tried to sleep again. No dice. Decided to get cunning. Had a shower, dried my hair, laid out clothes and jewellery for today, made lunch, bribed cats with some biscuits. And was back in bed at 4.45am. I tinkered with the alarm and got up at 7.15am – and still managed to make it to work on time. Sorry, I know insomnia stories are almost as bad as dream stories but part of keeping awake today involves keeping busy.

Anyway, lesson learned on the heavy dinner. That is the only thing I can think of that kicked it off, I don’t feel like I have the worries of the world on my shoulders at the moment. Except, I have a stupid work function to go to after work, and I can’t get out of it. So wah wah, please just let me sleep.

Saturday night in BFE was ok. We went to the semi annual craft fair, but it is a big one and has been somewhat taken over by importers rather than the usual little old ladies that knit. Sunday we were awake at 5.45am and didn’t leave the hotel until 9.00am. Terri is the worlds worst fafah. She seemed to be running a series of plastic supermarket bags (in conjunction with her overnight bag). She spent ages rustling about in them whilst getting ready. We have 4 nights away together next month in Sydney, I will need to practice my calming breaths otherwise she will drive me cray cray. On the bright side, I now understand better why she is perpetually late. It always takes about 3 trips out to the car before she can actually leave the house.

OK, well back to doing a stellar job at the office. This afternoon will (unfortunately) be fuelled by chocolate, I really wish I did caffeine on days like this.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.