Music in Snippets

  • Jan. 2, 2014, 11:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I never really listened to what passes for music today. I grew up on classical music. I used to love listening to risky korsakove or Frederic Chopin. Antonin Dvorak. That was music. I went to the symphony and watched the different instruments and the musicians that played them, and their passion and the part they played in the whole piece. It was magic. And it lasted forever. I could listen to the music over and over and imagine the stories like prokofiev's Peter and the wolf? One of my favorite pieces was Edward Elgar's Enigma variations. It felt like the many voices of one person. Something I could relate to. A modern piece by classical music standards but amazing nonetheless. I like his pomp and circumstance.
I used to read and study about the composers. I liked music. When I was in school my music teacher miss wise was one of my best friends. I used to go over to her apartment and we would listen to records and drink tea. She was going to be my grade six home room teacher. When I finished grade five she oom sick with cancer. She lost her leg, and her life all during the summer. As things turned out I never went back to school well not enough o matter. I finished school with a grade 5.


elaine2 January 03, 2014

When I was young, I took my son to see a wind trio perform Peter and the Wolf. The musicians wore animal hats. How sad that only one other child was there. Kids LOVE classical music if they watch the old-fashioned cartoons. My son got hooked on Rossini by watching Bugs Bunny.

shneaker elaine2 ⋅ January 03, 2014

I remember fondly the barber of Seville.

Leanne 🌈 January 03, 2014

Sad about your teacher.

I can listen to all type of music......I love music it feeds my soul.

shneaker January 03, 2014

I sure missed her.

NorthernSeeker January 06, 2014

I like a wide variety of music. When I have to focus for power marking I listen to classical...sometimes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.