Arghhh slow it down please in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 11, 2016, 6:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems like when things start happening it becomes a snowball going down hill after a wet snow. It gets bigger and bigger.

Dad has been having issues with either dreaming or something and it is scary to say the least. He isn’t “feeling” bad, but swears things have happened that haven’t. Like thinking me and my sister had been at his house on Wednesday “going in and out all day”. He messed up every single TV he uses which is 3 of them and I went to his house on Wed afternoon to try and get them set back up. It was his LR TV that was on the wrong input again so he couldn’t get his DISH reception. Got that figured out after I found his TV remote cause you can’t fix it without the TV remote, yet he can get it OFF without the TV remote. He had the remotes switched around and that was also part of the problem and then began to tell me a “story” which he was sure happened when I went to work on the TV issue again on Thursday. His “illusions” are so off the wall but the saddest and scariest part is they are ALWAYS bad. This one goes a bit like this: He was outside Wed evening and was working around the tractor. He somehow fell head first under the tractor. He “said” that my brother and his wife were sitting in their car and when he called out for them to help him get up, they wouldn’t help him. He said he figured he’d have to try and get up on his own, which he did, and walked over to where my brother was sitting in the back seat of said car and SIL was in the front seat of said car and asked him what was going on and why he wouldn’t help him. He said brother would answer him. SOooo now he is thinking that brother and SIL are “out to get him” and that he should probably just sign over the whole farm to me cause he knows I’d do right by everyone. YOU SEE how heartbreaking this is? My brother would NEVER refuse to help our Dad, NEVER. in a situation like described. I let Dad talk and told him maybe he had dreamed it as for “falling head first under the tractor” he didn’t have any scrapes or anything injury related on his forehead or face and that taking a headlong fall would cause injuries of some kind. WOW! THAT made his mad and he told me he had bruises all over his chest and arms, and if he took his clothes off I could see them, but he wasn’t going to take anything off. Then he proceeded to say “yeah, I’ve read and seen TV shows about adult kids trying to make their parents think they’re nuts and then take everything from them” or words to that effect or affect. Whichever it is devastating when he thinks and says these kind of things. He is always assuming when he is a bit “off” that everyone is out to get him. Even us kids. Long story short, I updated brother (he has worked out of town all week and hasn’t even been home) on the situation so he wouldn’t be blindsided.

I went back up yesterday afternoon to again fix a TV but he did seem to be back in the real world. At least he didn’t talk about things that hadn’t happened. I went through the medicines he keeps on his table and put the duplicates in another room so he isn’t as likely to be taking double doses, which may be what he did. Brother was supposed to stop in and see him when he got back last night, but don’t know if he did or not. If not, then I’m sure he’ll go over this morning. I’m going to let his primary care doc know about this episode of reality screwed up, even if he is ok so that it can be documented and the doctor is aware. Dad would never allow us to have him hospitalized freely as when this happens he believes it is real and we’re trying to “put him away”. So Prayers would be appreciated for all of us.

Picked up J’s equipment and brought it home and set it up. It wasn’t too difficult and even though he wasn’t thrilled about using it, he did use it for 30 minutes while watching his TV. Today, I will increase that time by 15 or 30 minutes so he is gradually getting used to the idea and realizes the benefits. I didn’t make him wear it to bed yet, as I want him to do it willingly. Hopefully the plan works and he does have 90 days to use it like prescribed and that is 4 hrs a night/day. I think we’ll be able to get there.

Mowed and watered yesterday evening after all the other stuff was taken care of to include going to Dad’s. I have a couple tomato plants with tiny green tomatoes so that was exciting! Can’t wait to slice one of those big boys and savor the taste of home grown tomatoes again!

I’m suppose to attend a meeting at 2 and then a birthday party at 4 and at this moment in time, I don’t want to go to either. I’ll see how I feel about them later and then decide whether to go or not. It is supposed to be in the 90s again today so Yuk!

I’m so grateful for AC!!

Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 11, 2016

prayers for your dad. this break with reality is scary. hope J gets used to his cpap soon. my daughter and son in law love theirs. i think i'll be going outside soon to plant a few seeds and bulbs. if i get it done in the next couple hours, the sky will open up and water for me. take care,

cardslinger June 11, 2016

That is so sad and difficult. I sure your dad doesn't truly believe your brother would act that way. Praying.
So many of you talk about the high temps and A/C already and today is the first sunny day we've had all week! I have baked to warm up the house as some days it's still chilly and one night this week, I wore a coat and summer scarf to walk Louis! I passed two neighbours walking and one wished me a Merry Christmas because she was sure it was going to snow! haha

GypsyWynd June 11, 2016

I'm sorry about your dad. My first thought was to check his meds. My grandpa was given one that made him belligerent and hallucinate. Talking to the doctor is a good idea.

aunty EM June 11, 2016

So sad and scary about your dad. It just doesn't seem fair to have lived a good life, worked hard and raised a nice family....

FormerlyMe June 11, 2016

Moms having hallucinations too. I think it is because we are out of routine.

crystal butterfly June 11, 2016

Sent up a prayer for your dad and you and your brother. I hope J gets used to his bi-pap quickly. I know I can't sleep without my c-pap.

static June 11, 2016

My dad was like that the last 2 years of his life. The doc said it was dementia and kept get getting worse. He had to be placed in a rehab/nursing home after falling. He was so mean to the staff and other residents. They could deal with "mean" but when he started injuring people he had to go to a psych ward in a hospital. I had to put him on a 72 hour hold. He was livid and wanted me to die. It made me feel terrible that in his mind he believed everything he was saying. He said that the staff was cheating in card games and stealing his money. I had to call the police to take him to the hospital after he started kicking and biting people. When the police arrived he tried to touch one of the officers gun and dared the cop to shoot him. It took 5 men and 1 woman to get him strapped for the trip to the hospital. My dad was 93 when all this happened.

I pray for you and your family. This is a rough time and maybe medication can help him. I hope so.

ConnieK June 12, 2016

I think you are wise to alert the doctor. Heartbreaking. Yes, he'll be in my prayers, as well as the rest of you. HUGS
Prayers, too, that J will transition well to the new equipment.

Ragdolls June 12, 2016

With my mom we had to put her meds in one of those weekly plastic trays. The ones with each day marked & it had places for morning and evening pills. Then we removed the prescription bottles with the remaining pills. It was done each week so she got the correct pills. She was able to get her own pills from that container for a long time. When she started confusing the days we had to take over giving her the pills morning and evening. She also had bad reactions to a couple of pills that caused irratic behavior. So sorry that you have to go through this.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.