Meh in 2016

  • June 10, 2016, 11:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Towards the end of the day yesterday, I stopped in the hall by the site director to ask how I was doing at the other site. I told him that I was actually enjoying it. He asked if I had enough work to do. I said yes, but also I’m still trying to figure out what how to prioritize what needs to get done asap. I bought up the conversation my boss asking me to change my days there for the sake of the office. He said I didn’t have to answer her right away. I told him in so many words that she kinda make me answer right away and even though its not a big deal its annoying just the same. I also wanted to reiterate that this WASN”T my idea. He said he was aware.
I still haven’t had a chance to chat with the director here. She’s very aloof and I don’t know what to make of her. She’s not a hands on kind of person. I’ve been here a month and she’s basically left me alone except the first 2 days she asked if I was getting along ok.
I’m a bit sad Baby’s concert is today at school. Its a 2 , there is no way I can go. If I was at the other office I could its an 12 min drive and then I could go back to work. Here no. I explained to her why I couldn’t go. She said it was ok, but I haven’t missed anything of her’s. And yes, I did ask hubby , but he said his dr’s appointment is at 115 and by the time he got out and over there it would be over. The wrap comes off his foot today. Thank goodness. Hopefully he will be able to do more around the house. Nothing annoys me more than coming home and he’s sitting in the chair with his feet up. - Now, he has an excuse , but I don’t get to come home and sit. He could at least feed the dog.
* Edit
I went and had a quick chat with the director here. I feel better. I let her know that 1. I was nervous about covering the secretary’s vacation here next week. As this isn’t something I’ve done before. 2. I wanted to clarify it wasn’t my idea or request to change days here and to let her know I was happy with being here.
The good news is she seemed responsive. And she told me that she understood my issue about the days being changed and she was blindsided too by it. I told her that I would chat with my boss on Tuesday about ONLY changing during the next 2 months because of vacations. I think I’m going to mention it to the site director there too, so I can back myself up. I’m beginning to realize the best advocate is YOURSELF. I have a voice. I need to speak up. And that’s exactly what I’m doing.


Last updated June 10, 2016


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.