So is it really summer? in Life

  • June 8, 2016, 10:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Technically we’re a couple of weeks into summer break, but it doesn’t feel like it. I was sick the first week and now I’m going up to school almost every day. First it was packing up my “old” room. Then this week it was packing up the lab. Now it’s starting to clean and sort in my new room. I can’t actually work in the room for the next day or so, due to them working on the floors, but I cleaned out the filing cabinet and the desk today, after finishing packing up the lab. My old room and the lab needed to be done as soon as possible, so the new teachers can get in their rooms and start getting their rooms set up.
I’m hoping to get this taken care of now, so that I get some time in July off. I’m working on things at home, too, the new curriculum and some changes we are trying out. I’m getting the chance to sort of lead the way in our direction and I’m excited about that. I feel good about the change. J#2 (aka BitchyJ) is not doing as well with her move. She’s had a couple of melt downs. She’s super stressed about the new direction for sci/ss and just struggling. I feel for her. I think admin dropped the ball. I know it is because she’s so hard to deal with and you can’t reason with her. So instead of working with her on things she needs to change, they just moved her (she’s been at our school 14 years and this is her 5th or 6th move). My principal talked to me about it and flat out said the moves were due to her difficulties. I talked pretty frankly with her after an incident this week, about some of the issues that happened this year. She claimed to be surprised by them, but I don’t really believe that. Anyway, no longer my circus, no longer my monkey. I don’t have to fight that fight any more. I do feel for J#2, but she caused a lot of this herself. I expressed my concern that my move was for similar reasons and she very quickly assured me that it wasn’t. The retiring teacher hand picked me to take her place due to the extra parts of the position. (Beta sponsor, 3 weeks of a special science camp, etc).
I have started slipping into summer sleep mode far too quickly. I’m staying up until 1 or 2 and sleeping until 7 or 8. I could probably sleep later, but the girls quickly let me know that they are hungry. At the moment they are exploring and destroying the box that my new toaster oven came in. They love boxes and bags - crazy cats. Luna’s favorite, though, is a headband. It’s a simple one that I used to hold my hair back from my face when I wash it. She tosses, chases, drags, etc all over. They’re also pretty good at killing bugs. I often find dead spiders, and other bugs on the floor. So far they don’t bring the carcasses to me, thankfully.
Ok, I’ve bored y’all enough, I just felt like I haven’t updated in a while. I’m off to read y’all. Have a great rest of the week.


Deleted user June 08, 2016

Wow, that's not really vacation. You are working hard still :-(

terriberri June 09, 2016

sounds like the changes are a bit rough....but i'm glad you are positive about yours. i'm excited for you!

i know about that falling into sleep mode. today i didn't have an alarm!!! i slept until 7:30!!! it was glorious, lol.

my cats used to love that weird plastic strip that you tear from the milk carton in order to pop the lid off? hours...days of play with that thing, lol.

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ June 09, 2016

I was sitting here watching a move and Stella came through chasing a marshmallow. A big marshmallow. I have no idea where she found it. I haven't had any in the house since winter and hot chocolate time. She chased it under the couch and all over the living room before I stole it from her. Seriously, there's something wrong with these cats lol.

Small Town Girl June 12, 2016

I hope you will get some time off to relax this summer! Sounds like you have a lot to do though!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.