Mixed Plate in Talk Story

  • June 8, 2016, 2:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

I’m doing okay… well… actually a bit better than just okay…
I had a bit of a medical scare… two months of concern… tests… and now the final results are very… very good…
This getting older… is not as much fun as I thought it was going to be…

I woke up to a light rain here on the southern coast of Oregon this morning… just enough water coming down that I had my windshield wipers on from time to time as I drove into town this morning…

I see that Hillary Clinton will represent the democratic side of the political spectrum… and I for one (of many) think that we are long overdue to have a woman be our President…
But having said that… I am sad that she is the one…
And as for having Donald Trump represent the republican side of things… well… words fail me (and not in a nice way)…
I think that we as a people… deserve a better choice than these two…
But having said the above… the American people have spoken… and that is the choice we now have…
For me it is simple… I will not vote for either of these two candidates…

My life is quiet… working (playing) with my plants in the yard… walking along the beach… dining out with friends (or just with myself)… doing a lot of reading… watching a dvd in the evening…

With my family all but gone… I am feeling that loss more and more as time goes on…

Friends certainly fill some of the void… and I realize that I am truly blessed with some wonderful people in my life… but I do miss what was…

Me ke aloha...............


Last updated June 08, 2016


Ashley June 08, 2016

Does this mean you are not voting?

Maui Jim Ashley ⋅ June 08, 2016

It means that I will not vote for either Trump nor Clinton...! If someone of substance runs... then I might vote for them...

Lady of the Bann June 08, 2016

Thanks for the birthday greeting.x

Maui Jim Lady of the Bann ⋅ June 08, 2016

You are most welcome...! (smiles)

Deleted user June 08, 2016

Glad your health scare is over and turned out well....Getting older is about what I'd thought it would be....but I did dread it....now that it's here....well...it is what it is.....I'll be voting for Clinton.....I think she'll do okay as President....imperfect....flawed.....but okay. You know, a lot of people are scared, but we have lived through bad presidents before....and life goes on....so why fret....(at least that is what I'm thinking today, lol)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 08, 2016

Ahhhhhh... the power of positive thinking... guess I should try doing more of that...! (smiles)

TruNorth June 08, 2016

Of course women should be given equal chance at running, but I don't think Hillary is a good choice. Margaret Thatcher was an excellent leader - but Hillary is no Margaret Thatcher. Just being a female isn't enough.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 08, 2016

Absolutely... couldn't have said it better myself...!

middle age pearl June 08, 2016

During a health scare the waiting seems to be the worst part. So glad your waiting is over and so is the scare. On to enjoy your beautiful landscapes and ocean views with no health worries!! Priceless!

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ June 08, 2016

Smiling at your note to me... thank you...!

🌻StillJustMe🌸 June 08, 2016

I'm so glad you're okay, Jim, whatever the scare was.
I agree with the above noter...getting old is not for sissies.
Hope you're having an enjoyable evening.

Maui Jim 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ June 08, 2016

I am... and thank you...! (smiles)

dream seeker June 08, 2016

I'm so glad that your medical issue has turned out so well!!
I understand what you're saying about missing your family. Most of the time, I'm good with being alone, but sometimes alone turns into lonely. That's when it's not so good. I'm glad you have such a wonderful group of people out there caring for you. :)
As for the presidential election...uggghhhh I don't know. I honestly can't imagine voting for either of them. :(

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ June 09, 2016

And as I wrote... me either...! (smiles)

Peter_24601 June 09, 2016

Personally, I have nothing against having a woman President... just a shame it couldn't be someone with more integrity like Elizabeth Warren.

Glad to hear the results came back with good news. All the best my friend.

See you around,

Maui Jim Peter_24601 ⋅ June 09, 2016

I am a bit of a fan of Elizabeth Warren... and would most likely vote for her if she was the candidate...!

aunty EM June 09, 2016

You are so right! It's not as much fun as we thought it would be.

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 09, 2016

Smiles...

crystal butterfly June 10, 2016

It is time for a female. And we have had some good women start the race. But this woman makes me cringe and sure wish she were not the female they think we should vote for.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 10, 2016

I could not agree any more with what you have written...! There are so many talented women out there... I just don't get "her"...! (sigh)

Deleted user June 17, 2016

Jim! I leave for Hawaii tomorrow!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.