Flattery Will Get You Nowhere in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • June 8, 2016, 2:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

One of my pet peeves is insincere flattery. It’s not a big deal usually, but sometimes it really irritates me. I have a friend of longstanding who wants to go from friendship to more. She is a nice lady, but I do not and have never had the inclination to pursue more. After some 30 years of knowing each other, and our respective spouses (she is a divorcee, I am widowed) I have made this clear many times. I think I may have to end the friendship.
Her most recent gaff is to tell me how incredibly handsome and “sexy” I am. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’m necessarily homely, but I am far from magazine model status. She has been following this up with inappropriate texts.
It tends to remind me of the female inmates at work who try to ply male officers with compliments, “Ooh, Mr. Frazier, you’re so handsome, how old are you; 25?” or “When I get out I’m going to find you and make you my next husband”. I don’t like shallow compliments and I think “sexting” is demeaning to both parties, especially people of my generation. I guess I’m going to have to talk to her and let the friendship go, she’s not listening when I tell her I don’t want a romantic relationship. I’m too old for this, I don’t want a partner at this stage in my life, and I don’t want to feel as though I could be leading her on.
Anyway, all else is good. Brian is aggravated with me a bit, I caught him traveling 80 mph down a residential street and told him to stop speeding or I would take the truck back. Aside from the mountain of citations he’s amassed, I’m not losing another child in a vehicle I gave them. But he’ll get over it and he’s slowed down. Sometimes you still have to parent the grown ones a bit.
All is on hold with custody. Another mediation scheduled at the end of the month. They’ve skipped the last two without notification so the judge is not happy and they’re now liable for all costs. Pam hasn’t paid her newest attorney, so she won’t have representation again soon. We’ll see what happens, but all attorneys have strongly indicated that the court is strongly in our favor.
Raina started walking last week. Still wobbly, but already into everything. I think she realized the upright position allows her to reach more forbidden objects. Nothing like motivation! Hide your cell phones and remote controls.
Brandon is working too much, and Jillian is keeping the house running smoothly and seemingly without effort. That young woman is a marvel.
Well, I’ve ranted about my non-love life and updated everyone on the major points so I guess I will leave you all to your day. Have a good week and take care.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.